5 IPL legends who were removed as captain

Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma became the latest IPL legend to be removed as the captain. In surprising call, Mumbai Indians decided to remove Rohit as captain. They handed over the charger to Hardik Pandya, who was traded to Mumbai Indians from Gujarat Titans.

Rohit Sharma took over as the full-time captain of Mumbai Indians during IPL 2013. Mumbai Indians under his leadership and won the IPL titles in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019 and 2020. Their decision to remove Rohit from captaincy was a big surprise.

Ravindra Jadeja

Ravindra Jadeja replaced MS Dhoni as the captain of Chennai Super Kings after Dhoni decided to step down before the start of IPL 2022. Jadeja was expected to take over the charge for a long time but his stint ended after just 8 matches.

MS Dhoni was back as the captain after CSK only managed 2 wins from 8 matches under Ravindra Jadeja's leadership. Jadeja did not leave CSK after the season and played a key role in them winning the IPL 2023 title. Dhoni is still CSK's captain.

David Miller

Punjab Kings showed faith in David Miller and retained him before the IPL 2024 mega-auction. He was given the team's charge before IPL 2016. Miller's stint was a forgettable one and he was sacked as captain mid-season.

David Miller captained Punjab Kings to only one win from six matches. He was replaced by Murali Vijay, who managed 3 wins from eight matches. Glenn Maxwell took over the charge for IPL 2017. PBKS failed to qualify for the second round once again.

David Warner

Sunrisers Hyderabad made a shocking call during IPL 2021. They sacked David Warner from captaincy and also dropped him from playing XI. Warner did make his comeback in the playing XI in the second half but was dropped again.

SRH released David Warner before the IPL 2022 mega-auction and did not bid for him. Warner is SRH's only IPL-winning captain so far and it was surprising to see him getting sacked and dropped.

Ajinkya Rahane

Ajinkya Rahane replaced Steve Smith as the captain of Rajasthan Royals for IPL 2018 after the Aussie was banned for the season. Rahane captained RR to the second round of the season. He was retained as the captain for IPL 2019.

Google News.

" >

Follow us on Google News.

Rajasthan Royals sacked Ajinkya Rahane mid-season and handed over the charge to Steve Smith despite knowing he would not be available for full season due to 2019 World Cup. Rahane captained RR again after Smith left for the ICC event. Rahane parted ways with RR after IPL 2019.