9 players to win Indian cricketer of the year award

Sachin Tendulkar

Sachin Tendulkar was the first winner of the award in 2006-07. Sachin is one of two players to win it multiple times after clinching the prize in 2009-10.

Virender Sehwag

Virender Sehwag was the second winner of the award when he clinched the top prize in 2007-08 after an incredible comeback into the Indian team.

Gautam Gambhir

Gautam Gambhir's incredible year which saw him also win the ICC Test cricket of the year was rewarded with the top BCCI prize in 2008-09.

Rahul Dravid

Rahul Dravid was given the prize just months before his retirement in 2010-11 on the back of the incredible tour of England.

Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli is the second player after Sachin Tendulkar to win the award more than once. Kohli won the prize a record five times: 2011-12, 2014-15, 2015-16, 2017-18, 2018-19.

Ravichandra Ashwin

Ravichandra Ashwin was awarded the top prize by the BCCI and became the first bowler to lift the trophy in 2012-13. He is the only spinner till date to win the award. Ashwin also won the prize in 2020-21.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Bhuvneshwar Kumar was the first pacer to win the award when he won the top prize after an incredible year in all formats for India in 2013-14.

Jasprit Bumrah

Jasprit Bumrah was the second pacer to win the award and ended Virat Kohli's run of winning the prize for four years in a row in 2019-20. Bumrah also won the award in 2021-22.

Mohammed Shami

Indian pace-bowling great Mohammed Shami won the award for the first time in the 2019-20 season.

Google News.

" >

Follow us on Google News.

Shubman Gill is set to receive the award in 2024 according to media reports for an incredible year in 2023 that saw him being the top-scorer in international cricket and play a key role in India reaching the World Cup final.