Deja vu for India as Australia claim 4th U-19 ICC title with 79-run win

Ivy Sarkar

Team India suffered multiple setbacks in their record run-chase against Australia in the final of the U-19 World Cup at Willowmoore Park on Sunday.

Australia Under -19 | Sportz Point

Musheer Khan (22), Arshin Kulkarni (3), captain Uday Saharan (8) and superstar Sachin Dhas (9) failed to make an impact as Australian pacers guided Hugh Weibgen and Co. to World Cup glory in South Africa

IND U19 vs AUS U19: Raj Limbani gets his second of the match | Image - Getty

Australia's Mahli Beardman and Raf MacMilllan shared six wickets while Callum Vidler bagged two dismissals in the final.

With the 79-run win over India, Australia secured its fourth U-19 World Cup crown.

Australia Under -19 | Sportz Point

Earlier, India kept a check on Australia for much of the innings but the latter recovered to set a score of 253/7 in their 50 overs.

India Under-19 | Sportz Point

Pacer Raj Limbani recorded figures of 3/38 in his 10 overs while Naman Tiwari took two wickets for 63 runs. Spinners Saumy Pandey and Musheer Khan took a wicket each.

India Under-19 | Sportz Point

Both India and Australia got into the final on the backs of two extraordinarily close semi-final victories. While India beat South Africa by two wickets with seven balls to spare, Australia were pushed to the brink by Pakistan and won by one wicket.

Follow us on Google News.

Australia Under- 19 | Sportz Point