Six players to lead team India in all 3 formats

Ivy Sarkar

Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli is among the six Indian players to lead Team India in all three formats. Virat was India's full-time captain from 2017 to 2022. He first joined the leadership group in 2012 and was MS Dhoni's deputy for a long time.

Boxing Day Test: Virat Kohli's 169 run-inning against Australia in Melbourne | Image - Getty

With 40 wins from 68 matches, Virat Kohli is India's most successful Test captain. He led India to 65 wins in ODIs and 30 wins in T20Is. Virat Kohli stepped down as the T20I and Test captain while he was sacked as the ODI captain.

Virat Kohli | Sportz Point

MS Dhoni

MS Dhoni was the second captain to lead Team India in all three formats. He made his captaincy debut in 2007 and there was no looking back for Dhoni after that. Dhoni led India to 27 wins in 60 Tests. He retired from Test cricket in 2014.

MS Dhoni | Sportz Point

MS Dhoni took over as the Test captain after Anil Kumble announced his retirement in 2018. He was named the T20I and the ODI captain in 2007. Dhoni captained India to title wins in all three ICC trophies. He retired in August 2020.

MS Dhoni got awarded with a special prize for gifting India a special moment in Cricket History • Image - ICC

Virender Sehwag

Virender Sehwag was the first captain to lead Team India in all three formats. He was India's first T20I captain. Sehwag capatined India in one T20I , 12 ODIs and 4 tests. He retired from international cricket in 2015.

Virender Sehwag is the fifth highest run-getter in South Africa vs India test matches | Image - Getty

Rohit Sharma

The present captain of Team India, Rohit Sharma leads the team in all three formats. He first joined the leadership group in 2017 and led India on a stand-in basis for the next four years. He replaced Virat Kohli as captain in 2021/22.

Rohit Sharma nearing top in WTC list

Rohit Sharma replaced Virat Kohli as the Test captain after the latter stepped down. Rohit continues to lead Team India with success. Under him, India made it to the finals of the ODI World Cup and World Test Championship. India lost to Australia in both finals.

Rohit Sharma leads ICC Team of the Year in ODI. Image- News9live

Ajinkya Rahane

Ajinkya Rahane has also led Team India in all three formats. He was never part of the leadership group in white-ball cricket on a permanent basis. Rahane was Virat Kohli's deputy in Test cricket from 2017 to 2021.

The turnaround in Ajinkya Rahane's career

India won all three ODIs under Ajinkya Rahane. India lost one out of the T20Is under him. Under him, India stunned Australia and won the Border -Gavaskar Trophy in 2020/21. Rahane was dropped from the Test team in 2023.

Ajinkya Rahane | Sportz Point

KL Rahul

KL Rahul has captained India to two wins from 3 matches in Test cricket. Under him, India have won 8 ODIs and one T20I. He was the vice-captain of Team India at one stage but isn't part of the leadership group now.

Follow us on Google News.

KL Rahul had to dig deep to bring up his half-century during the South Africa vs India 1st Test match | Image - AFP/Getty