Top five players with most player of the match awards

Sachin Tendulkar | Nine Awards

All-time great Sachin Tendulkar holds the record for most player of the match awards in ODI World Cup history. He won nine players of the match awards in 45 matches and also scored 2278 runs in 44 ODI world cup innings at an average of 56.95.

Rohit Sharma | Seven Awards

Indian skipper Rohit Sharma comes second on the list, with seven awards in 23 world cup matches. Rohit bagged his seventh award on Sunday when he scored 87 against England in Lucknow.

Glenn McGrath | Six Awards

Former Australian pacer Glenn McGrath is third on the list, with six awards from 39 world cup matches. He is the highest wicket-taker in the history of ODI World Cups, with 71 wickets in 39 matches.

Viv Richards | Five Awards

Former West Indies batter Viv Richards is joint fourth in the list five awards in 23 matches. In 21 world cup innings, Richards scored 1013 runs at a stunning average of 63.31.

Google News.

" >

Follow us on Google News.

Former England batter Graham Gooch is level with Richards on the number of the player of the match awards in ODI world cups: Five. He scored 897 runs in 21 ODI world cup innings, at an average of 44.85.