Ashes 2023: Steve Smith's catch to dismiss Joe Root has become controversial

Smith's catch of Root has become controversial as the third umpire ruled it in favour of the Aussies during the 2nd Test of the Ashes 2023.

Abishek Goswami
New Update
Ashes 2023 | Ashes 2023: Steve Smith's catch to dismiss Joe Root has become controversial | Sportz Point

Steve Smith took a brilliant catch to dismiss Joe Root on Day 2 of the second Ashes Test at the Lord's. Smith was having a great day as he scored his 32nd century and then helped to get probably the biggest English wicket. The third umpire ruled it out but some ex-cricket players and English fans are completely arguing over the decision on social media. The Ashes have been always exciting to see and the Ashes 2023 is no different. The passion, this prestigious series holds is unmatchable and when the umpiring decisions don't go as expected, criticism is natural.

Read Also: Most Hundreds in Test cricket among active players

Smith once again proved why he is among the highly-rated fielders in the world. England were enjoying the best batting conditions of the match. They were cruising smoothly but Smith's effort did put them under pressure for some time. A top edge on a short ball from Mitchell Starc was falling short of Steve Smith but he ran forward from the backward square leg and pulled off a spectacular catch. The third umpire deliberating ruled it in favour of the Aussies.

England are trailing by 188 runs after the end of Day 2 of the second test in the ongoing Ashes 2023. They have scored 278 after losing 4 wickets in just 61 overs. "Bazball" is going smoothly but they have to score at least 250 more to completely shift the momentum.

Cricket Australia England Cricket Team Steve Smith Test Cricket The Ashes Joe Root