Asia Cup Stats: Most Finals played by any team in Asia Cup History

India will face Sri Lanka in the Final of the 16th edition of the Asia Cup on 17th September at the R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.

Abishek Goswami
New Update
Asia Cup | Asia Cup Stats: Most Finals played by any team in Asia Cup History | Sportz Point

Asia Cup is the only tournament in the world that is based on competitions among the countries of one continent. India is the top performer as they have won 7 times. Apart from this, India has also been in 10 finals out of 15 total Finals (India has participated in 14 editions though, skipping once). Sri Lanka is the second most successful team in the after India. The Sri Lankan team won the competition 6 times and Pakistan took the title home two times. Initially, it was a competition among three countries but later on, Asia Cup expanded to become a six-team tournament. They are India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Hong Kong, and Afghanistan.

Read Also: Asia Cup 2023: Sri Lanka defeat Pakistan in a last-ball thriller to set a date with India in the final on Sunday

Asia Cup is one of the most popular cricket tournaments in Asia. It is conducted over a gap of two years by the International Cricket Council (ICC). The 15th edition was played in UAE from 27th August to 11th September 2022. Sri Lanka won the 2022 title. The first Asia Cup was played in 1984 in UAE. India was the winner of this tournament and Sri Lanka was the runner-up. In this article, we'll list out the teams to appear in the Final for the most number of times.

Most Finals played by any team in Asia Cup History (ODI+T20I)

Rank Teams Appearance in the Final Titles Runners-up
1 Sri Lanka 12 6 6
2 India 10 7 3
3 Pakistan 5 2 3
4 Bangladesh 3 0 3

The 2023 edition will be the 13th appearance for Sri Lanka in the Final while India will appear for the 11th time. Sri Lanka also have the opportunity to match India's title tally by winning the title for the second consecutive time.

Winners List:

Team India won the Cup 7 times in 15 editions. Sri Lanka won the title 6 times and Pakistan 2 times. The three remaining countries Bangladesh, Afghanistan, and Hong Kong have yet to open their account in the winners list. The winners list is in front of us.

Team Name Winner Runner-up Winning Year
India 7 3 1984, 1988, 1991, 1995, 2010, 2016, 2018
Sri Lanka 6 6 1986, 1997, 2004, 2008, 2014, 2022
Pakistan 2 3 2000, 2012
Bangladesh 3
Hong Kong
Indian Cricket Team Pakistan Cricket Team Afghanistan Cricket Board Sri Lanka Cricket Asia Cup 2023 Srilanka Cricket