Asia Cup Winners List from 1984 to 2023

The 16th edition of the Asia Cup is all set to start from 31st August 2023 but before that, let's look at the winners list from 1984-2022.

Abishek Goswami
New Update
Asia Cup | Asia Cup Winners List from 1984 to 2022 | Sportz Point

Asia Cup is the only tournament in the world that is based on competitions among the countries of one continent. India is the top performer as they have won 8 Asia Cups. Apart from this, India has also been in 11 finals out of 16 total Finals (India has participated in 15 editions though, skipping once). Sri Lanka is the second most successful team in the Asia Cup after India. The Sri Lankan team won the Asia Cup 6 times and Pakistan took the cup home two times. Initially, it was a competition among three countries but later on, Asia Cup expanded to become a six-team tournament. They are India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Hong Kong, and Afghanistan.

Read Also: Mohun Bagan & Bhowanipur qualified for the Semi-Finals of the P. Sen Memorial Trophy

Asia Cup is one of the most popular cricket tournaments in Asia. It is conducted over a gap of two years by the International Cricket Council (ICC). The 16th edition just ended with India lifting the title after defeating Sri Lanka in the Final in Colombo. In 1984, the UAE hosted the first Asia Cup. India was the winner of this tournament and Sri Lanka was the runner-up. In this article, we'll have a look at the winners' list of the Asia Cup from 1984 to 2023 along with a runner-up and hosting country.

Asia Cup 2023 Winner

The 2023 edition began on 30th August 2023 in Sri Lanka. The first match was played between Pakistan and Nepal in Multan and Pakistan won this match by 238 runs. The Winner of the 2023 edition was decided on 17th September 2023 when the two best teams of the tournament Sri Lanka and India played the final matchIndia became the winner of the 16th edition by defeating Sri Lanka by 10 wickets.

Asia Cup Winners List

Asia Cup Winners List from 1984 to 2023 is on the table. The Winners List table contains the year, winner team, runner-up team, and hosting country.

Edition Year Winner Won By Runner-Up Host
16th 2023 India 10 wickets Sri Lanka Sri Lanka/Pakistan
15th 2022 Sri Lanka 23 runs Pakistan Sri Lanka
14th 2018 India 3 wickets Bangladesh UAE
13th 2016 India 8 wickets Bangladesh Bangladesh
12th 2014 Sri Lanka 5 wickets Pakistan Bangladesh
11th 2012 Pakistan 2 runs Bangladesh Bangladesh
10th 2010 India 81 runs Sri Lanka Sri Lanka
9th 2008 Sri Lanka 100 runs India Pakistan
8th 2004 Sri Lanka 25 runs India Sri Lanka
7th 2000 Pakistan 39 runs Sri Lanka Bangladesh
6th 1997 Sri Lanka 8 wickets India Sri Lanka
5th 1995 India 8 wickets Sri Lanka UAE
4th 1990-91 India 7 wickets Sri Lanka India
3rd 1988 India 6 wickets Sri Lanka Bangladesh
2nd 1986 Sri Lanka 5 wickets Pakistan Sri Lanka
1st 1984 India India won Sri Lanka UAE

Asia Cup Winners List- Country-wise

Team India won the Cup 8 times in 16 editions followed by Sri Lanka 6 times and Pakistan 2 times. The three remaining countries Bangladesh, Afghanistan, and Hong Kong have yet to open their account in the winners list. The country-wise list of the winners is here.

Team Name Winner Runner-up Winning Year
India 8 3 1984, 1988, 1991, 1995, 2010, 2016, 2018, 2023
Sri Lanka 6 7 1986, 1997, 2004, 2008, 2014, 2022
Pakistan 2 3 2000, 2012
Bangladesh - 3 -
Afghanistan - - -
Hong Kong - - -
Asia Cup 2023 Indian Cricket Team Bcci Pakistan Cricket Team