Border-Gavaskar Trophy: Most runs for India in a series

The Border-Gavaskar Trophy is all set to start on 9th February. There is a debate about who will be the Top run scorer for India. Let's see...

Abishek Goswami
New Update

Since 1996, India vs Australia rivalry has produced some of the greatest cricket matches in history. IND vs AUS Border-Gavaskar Trophy is going to start on 9th February 2023. The first Test match will be played in Nagpur. India is the current holder of BGT. They have won 9 times, while Australia has claimed 6 times. It is currently playing through the International Cricket Council's Future Tours Program, with varying timings between matches. If the series is drawn, the country holding the trophy first retains it. Allan Border & Sunil Gavaskar both were the best Batsmen of their time. They were the first cricketers to score 10,000 runs in Test cricket and were the highest run-getters in the longest format of the game for quite some time.

For that, before starting the series, the debate rises about – who will be a top run scorer. This Year is no different. Now, Let's give a look at the list of the Most runs for India in a Border-Gavaskar Trophy series.

Read also: IND vs AUS: Most Individual runs in each Border-Gavaskar Trophy

Border-Gavaskar Trophy: Most Runs For India in a series:

1. Virat Kohli | 692 Runs | 2014-15

Border-Gavaskar Trophy: Virat Kohli in 2014-15 | Sportz Point

Virat Kohli in 2014-15

Image -

Virat Kohli remained the only Indian batter to hit four Centuries vs Australia – in Australia in 2014-15. Kohli, with 692 runs with an average of 86.50 in the four-Test series in 2014-15, holds a record for the highest run aggregate in a series for India vs Australia.

2. Rahul Dravid | 619 Runs | 2003-04

Border Gavaskar Trophy: Rahul Dravid in 2003-04 | Sportz Point

Rahul Dravid in 2003-04
Image – Republic World

In the fifth season of the BGT, Rahul Dravid scored 619 runs from 8 innings of 4 test matches at an average of 120+. Dravid would score a hundred & 3 fifties. In the Adelaide Test, Rahul Dravid scored a double century, securing a famous win for India. 

3. Cheteshwar Pujara | 521 Runs | 2018-19

Cheteshwar Pujara in 2018-19 | Sportz Point

Cheteshwar Pujara in 2018-19
Image - CricketSoccer

Cheteshwar Pujara was just Invincible in India's 2018-19 tour of Australia. The right-handed batter played an instrumental role in India's maiden Test series victory in the 2018-19 leg. He scored 521 runs with an average of 74.43 with three incredible centuries. 

4. VVS Laxman | 503 Runs | 2000/01

Border-Gavaskar Trophy: VVS Laxman | Sportz Point

VVS Laxman in 2000-01
Image - Mint

VVS Laxman was the first Indian batsman to score 500 or more runs in a three-Test series against Australia, who did it in 2000–01 with 503 runs with an average of 83.83. His 281 runs knock is still one of the best innings in the history of Test Cricket.

5. VVS Laxman | 494 | 2003-04

In 2003-04, VVS Laxman scored 494 runs from 8 innings of 4 test matches at an average of 82+. Laxman would score 2 centuries and a half centuries while scoring these runs and his highest score was 178. With these statistics, VVS Laxman made it to the list of Cricketers with the most runs in Border Gavaskar Trophy 2003-04.

Bcci Indian Cricket Team Rohit Sharma Virat Kohli Cheteshwar Pujara Rahul Dravid