Gujarat Titans win IPL 2022: Everything you need to know

As Gujarat Titans lifted the IPL 2022 trophy, we present you all the facts, stats for this season's IPL

Gujarat Titans win IPL 2022: Everything you need to know

As Gujarat Titans lifted the IPL 2022 trophy, we present you all the facts, stats for this season's IPL
Web Stories

What a performance by Gujarat Titans! They just made history by winning their debut season in the IPL. Even Hardik Pandya, who faced a lot of criticism, established himself as a top tier player. However, RR even with two top performers failed to perform in the finals against GT yet again. Their batting seemed lackluster and they failed to respond to GTs bowling, ending the game with just 130 runs giving away 9 wickets.

However, GT glided through this last match like butter, at no point did they seem in trouble. Even after losing two wickets in the first 10 overs, Gill and Panday took the match home easily. Pandya even took three wickets, further showing his superior skill set. However, with the finale coming to a close, the IPLs winners list is just getting better and better. So, here we are bring some excising facts, controversial moments,  you should know about this season. 

Read Also: IPL 2022 Award Winners: Orange Cap, Purple Cap, and Full list of Winners

All you need to know about IPL 

Each year IPL brings a lot of fun, excitement and 2 month long rivalry. And when it comes to cricket, Indian fans never miss to note down every little detail about each and every game. From the top run scorers to the craziest controversies this article is all you need to update yourself about everything IPL.

ipl 2022 infographic | Sportz Point
IPL 2022 stats infographics.

Most Controversial Moments in IPL

  • Lalit Modi getting sacked

Lalit Modi getting sacked has to be the biggest controversy in IPL’s history. He was let go as IPLs chairman after fraud and mismanagement of money came to public eye.

In the first season of IPL spinner Harbhajan Singh slapped former bowler Sreesanth. This incident shook the whole cricketing community as it paints a bad picture for athletes across the globe.

  • The 21st Hattrick

Chahal is the latest addition to the list of people who have achieved the rarest feat of getting a hattrick. Moreover, Amit Mishra and Yuvraj Singh previously recorded 3 & 2 respectively.

  • Highest Runs Ever Scored In a Match

The highest ever recorded score in IPL came from RCB, 265 runs in 20 overs. RCB achieved this mountainous score with the help of Chris Gale who scored 175 runs.

  • Most Sixes in IPL History

The record for the most sixes is held by Chris Gayle with 357 sixes. Additionally, he also holds the record for highest number of sixes in 2 consecutive seasons.

  • Most Wickets in IPL History

Dwyane Bravo holds the record for the highest number of wickets taken in the history of IPL with a whopping 183 wickets. Lasith Malinga is trailing right behind him with 170 wickets.

  • Number of Super Overs in IPL History

In the history of IPL there have been only 14 super overs. Super overs are especially exciting since the batsman tries to hit each ball for a boundary and bowlers try to avoid exactly that. Here is the list of super overs played to decide a winner in a match:

2009Kolkata Knight Riders vs. Rajasthan RoyalsRajasthan Royals
2010Chennai Super Kings vs. Kings IX PunjabKings IX Punjab
2013Sunrisers Hyderabad vs. Royal Challengers BangaloreSunrisers Hyderabad
2013Royal Challengers Bangalore vs. Delhi DaredevilsRoyal Challengers Bangalore
2014Kolkata Knight Riders vs. Rajasthan RoyalsRajasthan Royals
2015Royal Challengers Bangalore vs. Kings IX PunjabKings IX Punjab
2017Gujarat Lions vs. Mumbai IndiansMumbai Indians
2019Delhi Capitals vs. Kolkata Knight RidersDelhi Capitals
2019Mumbai Indians vs. Sunrisers HyderabadMumbai Indians
2020Delhi Capitals vs. Kings IX PunjabDelhi Capitals
2020Mumbai Indians vs. Royal Challengers BangaloreRoyal Challengers Bangalore
2020Sunrisers Hyderabad vs. Kolkata Knight RidersKolkata Knight Riders
2020Mumbai Indians vs. Kings IX PunjabKings IX Punjab
2021Sunrisers Hyderabad vs. Delhi CapitalsDelhi Capitals
  • What To Expect From The Next Season 

With the action packed season that we had this season, you can be sure that people have marked their calendar for the next one. So, here is what you can expect from the upcoming season:

  • First things first, AB de Villiers is coming back to RCB. After RCB almost made it to the finals, it’s fair to say with the addition of AB de Villiers RCB might actually win the next one.
  • The next season will also follow the same format where the teams will be divided into two groups and each team will play at least 14 matches.

Gujarat Titans Just Made The Unexpected Happen

Gujarat Titans just ended the season in the most unexpected way possible. Hardik Pandya, who remained unbought by his previous team Mumbai Indians, led Gujarat Titans to victory. He definitely proved his worth to the world with the kind of performance he had. And not just him, Rahul Tiwatia emerged as a promising prospect for the Indian squad. Besides Tiwatia and Pandya, David Miller and Rashid Khan pushed the whole team to victory. Winning 10 out of 14 games, they proved themselves as a force not to be reckoned with. All their fans are sure to be expecting to see if they can maintain the same performance next year.

Not Enough To Lift The Trophy

After defeating the underdog RCB, Royals seemed confident that they would snatch the trophy from right under Gujarat Titans. And to a certain point it seemed possible because of Josh Butler with the most runs and Yuzvendra Chahal who  took the most number of wickets. However, they had already failed to beat Gujarat Titans twice before in the same season. What was different this time? But all this doubt faded away when Buttler easily scored another hundred against RCB in their last game. Even the fans were overjoyed with Royals finally making it to the finale after 14 years. But alas all this wasn’t enough to beat GT.

To summarise, even though RR showed great performance against other teams, they failed to perform against GT three times. Which makes GT the stronger and better of the two and also a well deserved winner.

Share On

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Social Media

Recent News

You cannot copy content of this website.

SportzPoint Sign Up
Receive the latest news

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Get notified about new articles, news and offers!

LAST 10 WIMBLEDON CHAMPIONS (WOMEN’S) HIGHEST TEST AVERAGE BY AN INDIAN OPENER IN ENGLAND IN A SERIES Most Ranji Titles LAST 10 WIMBLEDON CHAMPIONS (MEN’S) For India, In Test series against England in 2021 Most Runs for India in WT20Is Most 6s in Test HIGHEST BATTING AVERAGE IN FIRST CLASS CRICKET (MIN: 2000 RUNS) Most 50+ scores in Tests for India in England (among active players) Lionel Messi’s football journey till now