ICC ODI World Cup 2023: Every India vs New Zealand match results in ICC World Cup history

Will India be able to turn the table around by defeating the Kiwis in the India vs New Zealand, 1st Semi-Final of the ICC Men's ODI World Cup 2023?

Abishek Goswami
New Update
ICC ODI World Cup 2023: Every India vs New Zealand match results in ICC World Cup history

Tom Latham and Rohit Sharma Image - AP

The 2023 ICC Men's ODI Cricket World Cup is the 13th edition of the Cricket World Cup. The tournament is being hosted by India, already began on 5 October and will conclude on 19 November 2023. Ten national teams - Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, and Sri Lanka are participating. England are the defending champions, having won the 2019 edition by defeating New Zealand in the final.

India are hosting the Men's Cricket World Cup solely for the first time. The tournament is taking place in ten different stadiums. The first and second semi-finals will be held at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai and Eden Gardens in Kolkata respectively. At the same time, the final will take place at Narendra Modi Stadium, in Ahmedabad.

Also Read: India vs New Zealand: ICC Men's ODI World Cup 2023 Match Preview, Possible Lineups, Pitch Report, Head-to-Head, and Dream XI Team Prediction

In the 10 50-over World Cup matches between India and New Zealand so far, Kiwis have an edge over Indians, winning five times. India have won four matches, while one match ended without a result.

Every India vs New Zealand match results in ICC World Cup history

India vs New Zealand: 1975

The World Cup was the first time these giants met in the World Cup. It was a 60-over match and was held in England. India and New Zealand faced each other at Old Trafford, Manchester, where India batted first after winning the toss. The Men In Blues scored 230 for 10 in 60 overs with Syed Abid Ali being the top scorer at 70.

In reply, Glen Turner's unbeaten knock of 114 runs helped the Kiwis win the match by 4 wickets with seven balls to spare.  

India vs New Zealand: 1979

India and New Zealand met for the second time in a World Cup in Headingley in 1979. Sunil Gavaskar top-scored for India with his 55 runs, but no other Indian batsman could score more than 38 as the team was all out for 182 runs. Edgar (84 not out) and Glen Turner (43 not out) led the team to a dominating eight-wicket win in 57 overs.

India vs New Zealand: 1987

The World Cup was being played in India for the first time, also in a 50-over format. India played New Zealand twice in the 1987 edition. The hosts managed to beat the Kiwis on both occasions.

In the first fixture at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore, Kapil Dev played an unbeaten inning of 58-ball 72, Navjot Singh Sidhu top-scored with 75, and Kiran More played a deadly cameo inning of 26-ball 42 as India scored 252 for 7 in 50 overs.

Ken Rutherford scored 75 runs and Andrew Jones remained unbeaten at 64, but the team fell 16 runs short of the target. It was India's first victory over New Zealand in a World Cup match.

India vs New Zealand: 1987

India and New Zealand met for the second time at the Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium in Nagpur in the 1987 World Cup. New Zealand batted first and scored 221 runs.

In reply, India opener Krishnamachari Srikkanth scored 75 runs off 58 balls, but it was Gavaskar's 88-ball unbeaten 103-run innings that became the highlight as it guided India to a dominating nine-wicket victory over New Zealand.

India vs New Zealand: 1992

The World Cup was hosted by Australia and New Zealand for the first time.

19-year-old Sachin Tendulkar top-scored with 84 runs against New Zealand. Skipper Mohammad Azharuddin also scored a half century (55) as India piled 236 for 6 in 50 overs.

New Zealand opener Mark Greatbatch laid a solid foundation for the team with his 73-run inning, and Andrew Jones too remained unbeaten at 67 as the team chased down the target in 47.1 overs with four wickets to spare.

India vs New Zealand: 1999

India and New Zealand reached the Super Six stage of the ICC World Cup 1999, which was being played in England for the fourth time.

Only Ajay Jadeja could face the New Zealand pace attack and he top-scored with 76 runs as India scored 251 in 50 overs.

In reply, Matt Horne scored 74 runs while Roger Twose played an unbeaten 66 runs-inning as New Zealand chased down the target easily in 48.2 overs with five wickets in hand.

India vs New Zealand: 2003

India faced New Zealand at Centurion Park, Centurion during the 2003 World Cup. Indian pacer Zaheer Khan dismantled New Zealand's top- and middle-order as he returned with figures of 4 for 42 in 8 overs to help the team restrict New Zealand to 146 in 50 overs. India lost Virender Sehwag, Tendulkar, and Ganguly's wickets with just 21 runs on the scoreboard, but Mohammad Kaif (68 not out in 129 balls) and Rahul Dravid (53 not out in 89 balls) built a partnership as India won the match by seven wickets in 40.4 overs.    

India vs New Zealand: 2019

After meeting in every edition of the World Cup till 2003, India and New Zealand didn't meet in the next three editions of the tournament in 2007, 2011, and 2015.

It was only 2019, a fifth World Cup in England that India and New Zealand were to play their first match at Trent Bridge, Nottingham. The match was abandoned without a ball being bowled as heavy rain washed out the match.

India vs New Zealand: 2019 Semi-Final

India and New Zealand met for the second time in the 2019 World Cup but it was the Semi-Final at the Old Trafford in Manchester. New Zealand skipper Williamson (67 runs off 90 balls) and Ross Taylor (74 runs off 90 balls) led their team to 239 for 8 wickets in 50 overs.

Matt Henry then dismantled India's top order with the help of Trent Boult and Mitchell Santner. India lost their first three wickets with just five runs on the board, and half the team returned at 71 runs.

MS Dhoni (50 runs off 72 balls) and Ravindra Jadeja (77 runs in 59 balls) added 116 runs for the seventh wicket, but Dhoni's run out changed the equation once again as New Zealand won the match by 18 runs.

India vs New Zealand: 2023

India and New Zealand entered the match registering four victories each in the tournament. Batting first, New Zealand batsmen Mitchell's 130 runs (127 balls) and Ravindra's 75 runs (87 balls) helped the team recover from loosing two early wickets as the team amassed 273 runs in 50 overs. Shami finished New Zealand's top and lower orders.  In reply, Indian batsman Virat Kohli top scored with 95 runs, skipper Rohit scored 46 runs, and Ravindra Jadeja played a brilliant 39 run-inning in 44 balls as India won the match by four wickets.

Follow us on Google News.

Icc Cricket World Cup 2023 Indian Cricket Team Kuldeep Yadav Bcci Icc Shreyas Iyer Jasprit Bumrah Tim Southee Kane Williamson New Zealand Cricket Mohammed Shami Ravindra Jadeja Kl Rahul Rachin Ravindra Shubman Gill Virat Kohli Rohit Sharma Cricket Trent Boult Devon Conway Tom Latham Mitchell Santner ODI World Cup 2023 Mohammed Siraj