IPL Man of The Tournament 2008 – 2023

Here is the list of the players who have won the prestigious IPL Man of the Tournament Award from the inaugural edition to the sixteenth.

Abishek Goswami
New Update
Man of The Tournament | IPL Man of The Tournament 2008 – 2023 | Sportz Point

The IPL "Man of the Tournament" award is given to a cricketer with the most impactful performances throughout the course of an entire season. In the year 2013, the IPL organisers renamed it to "IPL Most Valuable Player" award. Former Australian all-rounder Shane Watson was the first player to win the award in the inaugural edition of the IPL. Indian star Shubman Gill won the award in the 16th edition of the competition. In this article, We'll know about the players who have won this coveted award from the 2008-2023 season.

Read Also: IPL 2023: List of All Award Winners

Shane Watson was the first to win the award in 2008

Shane Watson was the first player to win the award in the inaugural edition of the IPL. Watson is one of the three players to win the coveted award in two different seasons. He won it for the first time in the inaugural season for scoring 472 runs besides claiming 17 wickets. Watson repeated the feat in 2013 after he scored 543 runs in addition to taking 13 wickets.

Sachin Tendulkar was the first Indian to receive that award

Sachin Tendulkar was the only Indian who won the "IPL Most Valuable Player" Award between 2008-15. He received it during the 2010 season for scoring 618 runs. During 2008-12, Tendulkar and Gayle were the only players who didn't end up on the title-winning team after winning the award. Adam Gilchrist (495 runs in 2009), and Sunil Narine (24 wickets in 2012) were both part of the IPL-winning franchise. Narine added another award to his bag in 2018. Glenn Maxwell won the same in 2014 for his breathtaking 552 runs but his side ended up losing the final to Kolkata Knight Riders.

In 2015, Andre Russell claimed the first of his two "IPL Man of the Tournament" awards in 2015 after scoring 326 runs and picking 14 wickets. He slammed 510 runs in 2019 besides claiming 11 wickets. In 2016, Virat Kohli became the 2nd Indian to win the "Most Valuable Player" award following a record-breaking season, which saw him rack up 973 runs with 4 centuries.

Shubman Gill won the IPL 2023 Man of the Tournament Award

English all-rounder Ben Stokes claimed the award for his impactful performance. He ended with 316 runs & 12 wickets in 2017 while Jofra Archer did the same in 2020, bagging 20 wickets and hammering 113 runs. The 2021 edition belonged to RCB's Harshal Patel, who claimed 32 wickets across 15 games and also bagged the coveted 'Purple Cap'. In 2022, Rajasthan Royals' Jos Buttler joined the list after he scored 863 runs in 17 innings with the help of 4 hundreds. The English white-ball skipper also won the coveted "Orange Cup." It made him only the 4th player after Sachin, Gayle, and Virat to complete a double. Shubman Gill won the 2023 "IPL Most Valuable Player" award for scoring 890 runs in 17 matches. He ended up on the losing side as Chennai defeated Gujarat in the Final.

Man of the Tournament: IPL Man of The Tournament 2008 – 2023 | Sportz Point


IPL Man of The Tournament 2008 – 2023:

Year Player of the Series Team Stats
2023 Shubman Gill Gujarat Titans 890 runs
2022 Jos Buttler Rajasthan Royals 863 Runs
2021 Harshal Patel Royal Challengers Bangalore 59 Runs, 32 Wickets
2020 Jofra Archer Rajasthan Royals 113 Runs, 20 Wickets
2019 Andre Russell Kolkata Knight Riders 510 Runs, 11 Wickets
2018 Sunil Narine Kolkata Knight Riders 357 Runs, 17 Wickets
2017 Ben Stokes Rising Pune Supergiant 316 Runs, 12 Wickets
2016 Virat Kohli Royal Challengers Bangalore 973 Runs
2015 Andre Russell Kolkata Knight Riders 326 Runs, 14 Wickets
2014 Glenn Maxwell Punjab Kings 552 Runs, 1 wicket
2013 Shane Watson Rajasthan Royals 543 Runs, 13 Wickets
2012 Sunil Narine Kolkata Knight Riders 24 Wickets
2011 Chris Gayle Royal Challengers Bangalore 608 Runs, 8 Wickets
2010 Sachin Tendulkar Mumbai Indians 618 Runs
2009 Adam Gilchrist Deccan Chargers 495 Runs
2008 Shane Watson Rajasthan Royals 472 Runs, 17 Wickets
Bcci Indian Cricket Team T20I Cricket Shubman Gill Ipl Indian Premier League Ipl 2023 Ipl 2021 Ipl 2022