KKR vs RR: Yashasvi Jaiswal's storm led Rajasthan to a 9-wicket win

Jaiswal overshadowed Chahal's four-wicket haul with an unbeaten 98 runs that helped RR to a dominant victory. during the KKR vs RR clash.

Abishek Goswami
New Update
KKR vs RR | KKR vs RR: Yashasvi Jaiswal's storm led Rajasthan to a 9-wicket win | Sportz Point

A four-wicket haul from Yuzvendra Chahal helped the Rajasthan Royals restrict Kolkata Knight Riders to a score of 149/8. After the end of the hosts' innings, Yashasvi Jaiswal just took the chase and ended it as fast as possible. He raced away to the fastest-ever fifty in the history of the IPL. Earlier, Trent Boult struck twice, both thanks to a couple of brilliant catches from Shimron Hetmyer and Sandeep Sharma. Venkatesh Iyer powered their recovery in the middle overs with a 42-ball 57 but RR pulled it back once again at the death. Yuzvendra Chahal got the big wickets of Andre Russell and Iyer and in the process, went past Dwayne Bravo as the all-time highest wicket-taker in the history of the IPL. Read the match report of the KKR vs RR clash and share your thoughts in the comments.

Read Also: Yashasvi Jaiswal scores the fastest half-century in the history of IPL

KKR vs RR: IPL 2023 Match Report

After restricting KKR to 149 for 8, RR chased down their target in just 13.1 overs, lifting their net run rate from an already healthy 0.388 to 0.633, the second-best in the league behind table-toppers Gujarat Titans. It should hold the Royals in good stead if they get into an NRR battle for playoffs qualification. They are now third on the table with 12 points from 12 games, above Mumbai Indians who have the same points total with a game in hand.

Coming into the match, two of Rajasthan's big names stood up in big ways. Yuzvendra Chahal became the leading wicket-taker in IPL history while bagging his second successive four-wicket haul. On the other side, Yashasvi Jaiswal made batting so easy while scoring the IPL's fastest-ever fifty. He missed out on scoring his second IPL century by 2 runs. Jaiswal remained unbeaten after scoring 98 runs in just 47 deliveries. Sanju Samson missed out on his half-century but he played a brilliant unbeaten inning of 48 runs.

Earlier in the match, Rajasthan Royals won the toss and decided to bowl first. KKR only managed to score 37 runs in the powerplay due to brilliant bowling from RR's end. Venkatesh Iyer scored 57 runs and helped KKR reach a decent total. That was not really enough for in-form Yashasvi Jaiswal.

Bcci Indian Cricket Team T20I Cricket Shardul Thakur Jason Roy Ipl Kolkata Knight Riders Venkatesh Iyer Indian Premier League Ipl 2023 Andre Russell Varun Chakravarthy Sunil Narine