Maa Saroda emerge victorious in the day-night final of NCC Budding Women's T20 Challenger Cup 2024

Maa Saroda defeated Rani Rashmonin in Thursday's final of the NCC Budding Women's T20 Challenger Cup 2024 in Howrah. Shamaita Adhikray was adjudged the player of the tournament.

Koushik Biswas
New Update
Maa Saroda emerge victorious in the day-night final of NCC Budding Women's T20 Challenger Cup 2024 -sportz
Listen to this article
0.75x 1x 1.5x
00:00 / 00:00

Maa Saroda defeated Rani Rashmoni by 9 wickets in a day-night final of the NCC Budding Women’s T20 Challenger Cup 2024 on Thursday at Gulmahor Ground in Howrah. In honour of the late Chandralekha Dalmiya, the NCC Budding Women’s T20 Challenger Cup 2024 commenced on March 12th with 8 teams from all over Bengal.

With over 130 players who are yet to don the Bengal jersey, the tournament provided opportunities and limelight to budding women cricketers of Bengal. The league stage of the tournament was played at the Rajasthan Club in Kolkata and the final was staged at Gulmahor Ground in Howrah.

In the final, Rani Rashmoni won the toss and decided to bat first on a sunny evening in Howrah. But it was Maa Saroda who dominated the first inning as their

captain Meghna Ghosh deployed a pacer and a spinner from each end. Their discipline start with the ball resulted in a run out as Riya Goswami dismissed Radhika Sonar with a rocket throw from mid-off.

With every dot ball, the pressure kept on rising on Rani Rashmoni’s batting

lineup and soon Diya Nandi went for a slog and lost her stumps. Post that, only Liza Roy was the only hope for Rani Rashmoni but after her dismissal in the 10th over, the backbone of the batting lineup was broken. Debarati Guha was the bowler on both occasions.

Raed Also: Exclusive | Taunts to Claps: Priyanka Bala's journey from rural village of Nadia to WPL

Rani Rashmoni’s batters could not resist after that as none of them could register a double-figure score on the board. In the end, they were bundled out for 57 as Debarati Guha finished with a magical bowling figure of 6/4 in her four overs. Adrija Sarkar and Remondina Khatun returned with two wickets each in the first inning.

In reply, Maa Saroda dominated the opposition bowlers from the word go. Shamaita Adhikari smashed the only six of the match as she stepped out to launch the ball over deep midwicket for a massive six. Her unbeaten 38-ball 37 runs helped Maa Saroda to chase the runs in just 11.2 overs and win the tournament. For Rani Rashmoni only captain Meghna Ghosh took one wicket but other bowlers could not force anything out of the game.

Debarati Guha was named the player of the match for her four-wicket haul in the first inning.

In the prize distribution ceremony, every player of the match from the group stage to the knockout stage was awarded. Shamaita Adhikari was adjudged as the best batter of the tournament and was rewarded with a bat and batting pad. Ramandita Khatun, who won the best bowler of the tournament, was rewarded with a shoe.

Riya Goswami and Riya Roy won the best fielder and best wicket-keeper awards respectively.

Maa Saroda's power-hitter Shamaita Adhikari won the Best Player of the Tournament award for 225 runs in the tournament. Former India Cricketer Gargi Banerjee specially rewarded 5000 rupees cash to Shamaita for her excellent performance in the tournament.

The final match of the tournament was attended by many former international and Bengal players who eagerly watched the future stars of Bengal sweat it out on the field.

Score summary:

Rani Rashmoni: 57/10 (19); Liza Roy 10 (16), Debarati Guha 4-6-4 Maa Saroda: 58/1 (11.2); Shamaita Adhikari 37* (38)