Most Runs in ICC Men's ODI World Cup

Sachin Tendulkar holds the record for scoring the most runs in the World Cup history. Let's see who are the other batters in the list.

Abishek Goswami
New Update
Most Runs | Most Runs in ICC Men's ODI World Cup | Sportz Point

The 2023 ICC Men's ODI Cricket World Cup will be the 13th edition of the Cricket World Cup. The tournament will be hosted by India, beginning on 5 October and concluding on 19 November 2023. Ten national teams will participate; Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, and Sri Lanka. England are the defending champions, having won the 2019 edition by defeating New Zealand in the final.

India will host the Men's Cricket World Cup solely for the first time. The tournament will take place in ten different stadiums. The first and second semi-finals will be held at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai and Eden Gardens in Kolkata respectively. At the same time, the final will take place at Narendra Modi Stadium, in Ahmedabad. Batsmen play responsibly and often score big totals, even double centuries. Only a few batters have consistently performed at the highest level and scored the most runs. As fans brace themselves for the 2023 World Cup in India, here at SportzPoint we look at the players who hold the record for scoring the most runs in the tournament's history.

Read Also: Asian Games 2023: Yashasvi Jaiswal becomes the youngest Indian to score a T20I century

Most Runs in ICC Men's ODI World Cup

Sachin Tendulkar

The "God of Cricket" is the highest-run scorer in test and ODI cricket, but also in the World Cup. Tendulkar has created multiple records in cricket. Another unbreakable record of his is in the ICC World Cup for scoring the most runs. Sachin Tendulkar has scored 2278 runs in 44 innings at an average of 56.95 over a span of two decades from 1992-2011. His highest score is 152 runs.

Ricky Ponting

Ricky Ponting is another living legend of modern cricket. He is considered one of the most successful captains in the history of cricket and led Australia to win two consecutive World Cup titles in 2003 and 2007. Ponting was a terrific batsman himself and is the second-highest run scorer in the ICC World Cup. Ponting scored 1743 runs in 42 innings at an average of 45.86 with a highest score of 140 not out. He appeared in five World Cups.

Kumara Sangakkara

Kumara Sangakkara captained the Sri Lanka team that finished the runner-ups in the 2011 World Cup. Sangakkara won many hearts and impressed fans with his consistency, leadership, and brilliant batting. He also scored four consecutive centuries in the 2015 World Cup. Overall, Sangakkara amassed 1532 runs in 33 innings with a highest score of 124.

Brian Lara

After Sachin Tendulkar, West Indies' Brian Lara is one of the greatest cricketers to ever play the sport. Known for his tremendous powerful batting, Brian Lara holds records for the highest individual score in first-class cricket (501*) and test cricket (400*). In the Cricket World Cup, Lara made 1225 runs in 33 innings at an average of 42.24 with a top score of 116.

AB de Villiers

South Africa's AB de Villiers is fifth on the list of players with the most runs in the ICC World Cup. He holds the nickname, "Mr. 360" for his ability to hit the ball at every corner of the field. De Villiers also enjoyed remarkable success at the World Cup. He scored 1207 runs in just 22 innings with the highest average amongst the top 5 in the list and featured in three World Cup editions.

Most Runs in ICC Men's ODI World Cup (Top 15)

Position Players Name & Country Runs Scored Innings Played Highest Score Span
1 Sachin Tendulkar (IND) 2278 44 152 1992-2011
2 Ricky Ponting (AUS) 1743 42 140* 1996-2011
3 Kumar Sangakkara (SL) 1532 35 124 2003-2015
4 Brian Lara (WI) 1225 33 116 1992-2007
5 AB de Villiers (SA) 1207 22 162* 2007-2015
6 Chris Gayle (WI) 1186 34 215 2003-2019
7 Sanath Jayasuriya (SL) 1165 37 120 1992-2007
8 Jacques Kallis (SA) 1148 32 128* 1996-2011
9 Shakib Al Hasan (BAN) 1146 29 124* 2007-2019
10 Tillakaratne Dilshan (SL) 1112 25 161* 2007-2015
11 Mahela Jayawardene (SL) 1100 34 115* 1999-2015
12 Adam Gilchrist (AUS) 1085 31 149 1999-2007
13 Javed Miandad (PAK) 1083 30 103 1975-1996
14 Stephen Fleming (NZ) 1075 33 134* 1996-2007
15 Herchelle Gibbs (SA) 1067 23 143 1999-2007
Icc Indian Cricket Team Icc Tournament Sachin Tendulkar Ricky Ponting Kumar Sangakkara Rohit Sharma Virat Kohli Ab De Villiers Brian Lara