Player of the series winners in T20 World Cup History

Players who perform throughout the tournament for their country are named the Player of the Series award. Let's take a look at those players

Arijit Barua
New Update
Sam Curran in T20 WC 22 | Sportz Point

A player can perform well in particular matches however, performing consistently throughout the whole tournament is a plus. This thin line separates the goods from the greats. Consistently delivering in a series is what makes a player a threat to the other teams. Let us look at those players who bagged the player of the series awards in each T20 World Cup edition.

Read Also: Winners list of last 10 ICC Tournaments

Shahid Afridi | Pakistan | 2007

Shahid Afridi in T20 World Cup 2007 |

Image - CricTribune

Former Pakistan skipper Shahid Afridi won the Player of the series award back in the 2007 T20 World Cup edition. The leggie scalps 12 wickets in the edition and also contributed 91 runs with the bat when needed. He was also the joint-highest wicket-taker (12 wickets) in that edition of the tournament.

Tillakaratne Dilshan | Sri Lanka | 2009

Tillkaratne Dilshan in T20 World Cup 2009 |

Image - ESPNCricinfo

Sri Lankan legendary batsman Tillakaratne Dilshan won the Player of the Series award in the T20 World Cup 2009 edition. Dilshan was the top scorer for that edition with 317 runs to his name with an average of 52.83. Although, Sri Lanka loses in the final against Pakistan. But Dilshan adjusted with the player of the series award for his extraordinary batting in that edition.

Also Read: Most Runs in T20 World Cup history

Kevin Pietersen | England | 2010

Kevin Pietersen |

Image - Sky Sports

England lifted the T20 World Cup in 2010 as Kevin Pietersen was named the player of the tournament for the edition. Kevin Pietersen scored 47 runs in 31 balls in the final game against the Aussies to help his team chase down 148. However, KP adjusted to the award as England lifted their first major ICC trophy.

Shane Watson | Australia | 2012

Shane Watson player of the series in 2012 T20 World Cup |

Image - ESPNCricinfo

Australian all-rounder Shane Watson won the Player of the Series award in the 2012 edition of the T20 WC. Shane Watson has batted six innings in the tournament. In which he smashed 249 runs at an average of 49.80. Moreover, Watson also took 11 wickets at an average of 16.00 in that edition. For his brilliant performance with both the bat and bowl, he was declared the player of the tournament for the 2012 edition.

Read Also: Most Wickets in T20 World Cup history

Virat Kohli | India | 2014

Virat Kohli the player of the series winner in 2014 T20 World Cup |

Image -

Indian skipper Virat Kohli was in top form in the ICC T20 World Cup 2014 edition. Virat has scored 319 runs as he helps his team to reach the finals of the 2014 World Cup edition. Virat had scored 77 runs in 58 balls in the final game against Sri Lanka before he got run out.

Although, his innings went in vain as Sri Lanka chased down the below-average target Inside 18 overs. However, Kohli adjusted with the player of the series award for his good performance throughout the tournament.

Also Read: Virat Kohli vs Joe Root vs Steve Smith Test Captaincy records

Virat Kohli | India | 2016

Virat Kohli the player of the series winner in 2016 T20 World Cup |

Image - Sportskeeda

Indian captain Virat Kohli again received the Player of the Series award in the 2016 edition. Virat scored 273 runs in that edition with a half-century in the Semi-Final game. Kohli scored 82 runs against the Aussies in that edition of the T20 World Cup. Meanwhile, that innings has been named the greatest moment of the ICC T20 World Cup history.

Although, India completed their journey in the semi-finals Virat again emerged with his top batting skills and grabbed the award.

Also Read: Virat Kohli records as T20I Captain

David Warner | Australia | 2021

David warner the player of the series of the T20 World Cup 2021 |

Image - Hindustan Times

Australian opener David Warner was out of form just before the T20 World Cup 2021. However, Warner again emerged again in the world cup stage as he smashed 289 runs in the tournament at an average of 48.16. Meanwhile, it's also included with the tournament-winning knock of 53 off 38 balls against New Zealand. He ended up as the 2nd highest run-scorer of the tournament behind Pakistan's Babar Azam.

Read Also: Fastest to 3000 runs in T20I

Sam Curran | England | 2022

Sam Curran in T20 WC 22 | Sportz Point

Image - T20 World Cup

English pacer Sam Curran continued his red-hot form in the tournament with three more wickets in the final. Curran took three wickets while conceding only 12 runs from his four-over spell and won the player of the match award as well. He also ended the tournament as England's leading wicket-taker with 13 wickets from just six innings at an impressive economy rate of 6.52 to grab a player of the tournament award.

Also Read: ICC Team of the tournament for T20 World Cup 2022

POTS in T20 WC | Sportz Point

N.B: Last Updated on 13/11/2022.

T20I Cricket Virat Kohli David Warner Shahid Afridi T20 World Cup Sam Curran Shane Watson Icc T20 World Cup T20 Cricket World Cup Kevin Pietersen T20 World Cup 2021 T20 World Cup 2022 Tillakaratne Dilshan