SMAT 2022: Most runs, wickets, and records

The SMAT tournament has been held every season bar the 2008-09 season. Checkout the stats and records of the 2022 edition.

Arijit Barua
New Update

The premium T20 domestic cricket competition, the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy (SMAT), is being played all over the country at the moment. We are done with the latest edition of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2022 and have found our new champions. Mumbai becomes the new champions of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. They clinch up their maiden title after defeating Himachal Pradesh in the finals of the latest edition at Eden Gardens, Kolkata.

The SMAT tournament is part of the Indian domestic season and has been held every season bar the 2008-09 season. SMAT started as a 27-team tournament and has since expanded to a 38-team competition. Let's check out the players with the most runs, wickets, and some records in the latest edition of the tournament.

Also Read: Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy (SMAT): Winners of every season

SMAT 2022: Most Runs

SMAT 2022: Most runs, wickets, and records | Sportz Point

Yash Dhull

Image - Sportskeeda

Yash Dhull of Delhi is currently the leading run-scorer in the competition. He has scored 363 runs in eight matches at a hefty average of 72.6.

Prithvi Shaw of Mumbai sits below Yash in the most runs list of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy (SMAT) 2022. He has scored 332 runs in ten matches at an average of 40.12. He is striking close to 200 in the SMAT 2022.

Prabhsimran Singh of Punjab is in third place while Nitish Rana of Delhi is in fourth. Singh amassed 320 runs at 53.33 in 9 innings while Rana aggregated 317 runs in 8 games at 45.29.

Samarth Vyas of Saurashtra has amassed 227 runs in three innings, averaging 113.50 with the bat. He is placed fifth on the most runs list. Vyas has two fifties to his name, with the highest score of 97.

Player Team Innings Runs Average Strike Rate 100/50 HS
Yash Dhull Delhi 8 363 72.60 131.52 0/3 73
Prithvi Shaw Mumbai 10 332 40.12 183.42 1/1 134
Prabhsimran Singh Punjab 9 320 53.33 141.59 0/4 80*
Nitish Rana Delhi 8 317 45.28 139.03 1/1 107
Samarth Vyas Saurashtra 7 314 52.33 177.40 0/2 97*

Read Also: India squad for New Zealand, Bangladesh series: Hardik to captain in T20Is, Dhawan to lead in ODIs

SMAT 2022: Most Wickets

SMAT 2022: Most runs, wickets, and records | Sportz Point

Siddharth Kaul

Image - Insidesport

Siddharth Kaul of Punjab is the current leading wicket-taker in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy (SMAT) 2022. He has picked up 19 wickets at an impressive average of 13.11.

Vidhwath Kaverappa of Karnataka is the second on this list. He has 18 wickets to his name and has picked up a fifer and averages at 10.12 with the ball. Kaverappa has bowled economically and is played a key role for Karnataka in this year's competition.

Tushar Deshpande from Mumbai is the third on this list with 17 wickets in 9 games. He averages 12.24 in those games. Sams Mulani of Mumbai is fourth while Vijaykumar Vyshak of Karnataka and Yash Thakur of Visharbha is in the fifth position. Mulani scalped 16 wickets in 9 games at an average of 13.94 while Vyshak and Yash took 15 wickets each in 8 and 10 games respectively.

Also Read: Last 10 winners of the Ranji Trophy

Player Team Innings Wickets BBI5 Economy Average 5/4 wickets
Siddharth Kaul Punjab 10 19 5/12 6.72 13.10 1/1
Vidhwath Kaverappa Karnataka 8 18 5/11 6.36 10.72 1/0
Tushar Deshpande Mumbai 9 17 3/25 6.52 13.23 0/0
Sams Mulani Mumbai 9 16 3/20 6.37 13.93 0/0
Vijaykumar Vyshak Karnataka 8 15 3/5 6.31 12.20 0/0
Yash Thakur Vidharbha 10 15 4/22 7.17 15.86 0/2

N.B: Last Updated on 04/11/2022.

T20 Cricket Prithvi Shaw Bcci Bcci Domestic Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy