Vijay Hazare Trophy Day1 Review: 4 matches washed out, 7 tons and much more on Day 1

7 centuries were scored on the first day of Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022. Akash Singh and Rahul Shukla also took five-fors for their teams.

Koushik Biswas
New Update
Vijay Hazare Trophy Day1 Review: 4 matches washed out, 7 tons and much more on Day 1 | Sportz Point

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022 started with a mixed day as 4 matches got washed out in the rain. A few Indian stars made their comeback in the white-ball format to catch the attention of the selectors. Meanwhile, players like Rinku Singh and Riyan Parag, Tilak Verma and Abdul Samad scored runs for their respective teams to announce themselves on the national level.

Read Also: Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy (SMAT): Winners of every season

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022 | Day 1 Results

Washed-out matches: Harayana vs Kerala, Bihar vs Tamil Nadu, Andhra Pradesh vs Goa, Arunachal Pradesh vs Chattisgarh.

Other results: Check out our full Twitter thread to know all the results for the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022, Day 1.

Performers from the Day 1 | Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022

7 centurions on Day 1 | Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022

The Day 1 of the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022 saw seven tons. Priyank Panchal, the Gujarat captain scored 136 as they put up a huge score of 337/6 against Manipur. Riyan Parag scored his maiden List-A ton against Rajasthan. Parag scored 117 runs against a Rajasthan bowling lineup comprising Rahul Chahar, Ravi Bishnoi and Kamlesh Nagarkoti. Meanwhile, Ruturaj Gaikwad's dream form in domestic cricket continued as he scored another century for Maharashtra. Gaikwad remained not out on 124 while chasing 219 against Railways.


Ruturaj Gaikwad in action. Image: The Hindu

Another star performer from Day 1 with the bat was Aijnkya Rahane (59*) who guided Mumbai in a small chase (123) against Bengal. Rinku Singh also shone with the bat as the southpaw scored 82 to take UP to 242 in the first inning against Tripura. Harvik Desai looked good with the bat as well for his 68 at the top of the order for Saurashtra. Meantime, Negi's 80 helped Uttrakhand win a great match against Odisha. They were 27/4 within the first five overs of the chase. But, Negi's inning was the saviour for the North-Indian team.

Virat Singh showed his hitting abilities against a much weaker side in Sikkim. Virat scored 75 as Jharkhand put up 309/3 in the first inning. But it was Himachal Pradesh vs Hyderabad match which produced three centuries. K. Rohit Rayudu (156) and Tilak Verma (132) scored two tons for Hyderabad. On the other hand, A.R. Kumar's 103 and Prasant Chopra's 70 went in vain as HP lost by 17 runs in the VJD method.

Madhya Pradesh's Yash Dubey's 121 was not enough for them as Abdul Samad (66) and Abid Mushtaq's 42 off 19 balls took Jammu and Kashmir home at the end of the day.

Read Also: T20 World Cup: Same old story, India losses yet another knockout match | 5 Reasons behind India's loss

Read Also: How quick learner Arshdeep Singh overtook contemporaries like Shivam Mavi, Nagarkoti and Ishan Porel of the 2018 batch?

Koitan, Ishant Sharma, Shreyas Gopal shine with the ball | Five-for for Rahul Shukla and Akash Singh

Bowlers did not have a great day on the first day of the Vijay Hazare trophy 2022 except for a few. Rahul Shukla of Jharkhand took 5/19 in 7 overs to dismiss Sikkim for just 116 runs. Akash Singh's 5/38 went in vain as Nagaland lost by 167 runs against Baroda.

But, it was Tanush Koitan of Mumbai who started the day in the best possible way for his team. Koitan troubled Bengal batters and picked up 4 wickets for 31 runs as Bengal was bundled out for just 121 runs. Ishant Sharma looked good after making his comeback in the white ball format after quite a long time. The Indian pacer took 3 wickets for 24 against Vidarbha.

However, Shreyas Gopal was perhaps the best all-rounder of the day with his 64 with the bat and 3/21 with the ball. Himangshu Bisht started the tournament on a great note as he took 4/26 against Odisha in a winning cause for Uttarakhand.

Ruturaj Gaikwad Shikhar Dhawan Bcci Domestic Ajinkya Rahane Ishant Sharma Ravi Bishnoi Vijay Hazare Trophy