Women's T20 World Cup Final: Australia clinches their Sixth title

Captain Meg Lanning led Australia to their sixth Women's T20 World Cup title by beating the host nation, South Africa by 19 runs.

Abishek Goswami
New Update
Women's T20 World Cup: Australia Women won their sixth T20 World Cup Title | Sportz Point

The Mighty Australia side once again proved their worth in Cricket. Be it, Men or Women, Australia has been ruling Cricket and that thing once again got proven today. The Australia Women won their third consecutive T20 World Cup title as they thrashed the host nation, South Africa. Skipper Meg Lanning led her team to an unbelievable success that no one can even think of. Six T20 World Cup Titles are not easy to win obviously but winning it by three-peats two times is just a crazy record.

Women's T20 World Cup: Australia Women's Team | Sportz Point

Australia Women's Team

Image - ESPN Cricinfo

Read Also: Sarfaraz Khan ruled out of the Irani Cup

Women's T20 World Cup Final: Match Report

Women's T20 World Cup: Meg Lanning & Sune Luus during the toss | Sportz Point

Meg Lanning & Sune Luus during the toss
Image - ICC

Australia's captain did just the basic at the toss by choosing to bat. The Pitch is just the perfect example of first batting and the Australian batters have converted the Newlands into their own. Skipper Lanning is always confident about her team. She knows there is the mentality, the winning mentality which is needed to defend and reclaim a title. Beth Mooney is just the perfect player for a big match. She owned the Proteas' bowling attack by smashing 74 runs which includes 9 fours and 1 six. The others failed to level the performance of Mooney otherwise the scoreline would be 180 or 190.

Women's T20 World Cup: Beth Mooney's 74 runs inning | Sportz Point

Beth Mooney's 74 runs inning
Image - ESPN Cricinfo

South Africa opener Wolvaardt tried her best to give her team a positive start the early wickets made the job really difficult. Laura Wolvaardt scored 61 runs in 48 deliveries which could have saved the team but there was no support from the others.

Women's T20 World Cup

South Africa was only able to score 137 runs in reply to 156 and lost the match by 19 runs. Australia defended their title successfully and became the Women's T20 World Cup 2022-23 Champions who are now on their sixth title. Meg Lanning created history by winning 5 ICC Tournaments.

Icc T20I Cricket Women In Sports Womens Cricket Cricket Australia Meg Lanning Womens T20 World Cup 2023 Alyssa Healy