Defenders who won Ballon d'Or award

The Ballon d'Or is an annual football award presented by the French news magazine, We will see the 3 defenders who won Ballon d'Or award

Arijit Barua
New Update
Ballon d'Or |

The Ballon d'Or is an annual football award presented by the French news magazine France Football. It is one of the oldest rewards and the whole world regards it as the most prestigious individual award for football players. France Football has been rewarding this award to the best player of the year since 1956.

Meanwhile, here comes for you with the 3 defenders who won Ballon d'Or award.

#3. Fabio Cannavaro | Italy

Fabio Cannavaro | Ballon d'Or Winner |

Fabio Cannavaro

Image :

Fabio Cannavaro comes at third spot of this list of Defenders who won Ballon d'Or award. The Italian had a fabulous 2005/06 season. Where he along with Buffon and Thuram formed a formidable defensive partnership that powered Juventus to the second Serie A title in two years. In the summer of 2006, Cannavaro captained the Italy team in the 2006 FIFA World Cup, where his leadership qualities and defensive discipline gained worldwide fame. The Italian guided his country to the final of the World Cup against France and lifted the trophy at the end of an eventful night.

Also Read : Messi vs Ronaldo: Most man of the match winners in football

It was an incredible achievement for a player who was already on the rise. Cannavaro joined Real Madrid over the summer and won the FIFA World Player of the year later that year. He finished with 498 points at the end of the voting process, beating the likes of Zinedine Zidane and Ronaldinho to become the best player of the year. On 27th November 2006, the Italian became on the third defender in the history of the game to win the Ballon d'Or award. His fellow countryman Buffon finished second, while French striker Thierry Henry finished third. As of now, he is the last defender to win the title.

#2. Matthias Sammer | Germany

Mattihas Sammer | Ballon d'Or Winner |

Matthias Sammer

Image :

Mathias Sammer of Germany comes at second spot in our list of Defenders who won Ballon d'Or award. The German had played most of his career as a midfielder when Borussia Dortmund manager Ottmar Hitzfeld made a surprise decision in the 93/94 season. Moreover, he asked Sammer to play in defence, as a sweeper. Sammer had already found success as a midfielder in his career, winning the Bundesliga with Stuttgart and two DDR-Oberliga. And also one FDGB-Pokal with Dynamo Dresden. As such, Hitzfeld's decision had a high degree of risk. However, it was a decision that would change Sammer's life forever.

Sammer continued his good form with Dortmund, as the Bundesliga side won the 1997 Champions League. However, injuries hurt him in the following season and ultimately retired in 1998.

Read Also : Football facts: Highest Unbeaten away wins in Premier League

#1. Franz Beckenbauer | West Germany

Franz Beckenbauer | Ballon d'Or Winner |

Franz Beckenbauer

Image :

At the top of our list of defenders who won Ballon Dor is Franz Beckenbauer. Franz was the first defender to win the prestigious award and is also the only defender to win it more than once. The German International first won the award in the year 1972, where he saw off competition from fellow countrymen Gerd Muller and Gunter Netzer. Der Kaiser also won the award in 1976.

The legendary German is often considered to be the best defender in the history of football. Beckenbauer is also credited to have revolutionized the art of modern defending, inventing. Then excelling in the role of a sweeper or the libero. He famously won three consecutive European Cups with Bayern Munich in between 1974 to 1976, besides also winning the 1974 FIFA World Cup and 1972 UEFA European Championships.On 26th December 1972, Beckenbauer won the Ballon d'Or, becoming the second German to win the award, finishing with 81 points after the voting process in a closely contested tie. In 1976, Der Kaiser was significantly more dominant, finishing with 91 points, as he received his second Ballon d'Or on 28th December 1976.


Defenders to win Ballon D'Or

N.B : The stats are accurate as of 03/09/2021.

Football Ballon Dor