Durand Cup to be held in Kolkata from 05 Sep-03 Oct

Share on:

Follow us on Google News:

Durand Cup to be held in Kolkata | SportzPoint
World’s third oldest and Asia’s oldest football tournament, the Durand Cup will soon be held in Kolkata between 05 September to 03 October 2021.
Web Stories

The Durand Cup is back on the Indian football calendar. It is the world’s third oldest and Asia’s oldest football tournament. The tournament will start on 5 Sept and will take place at various venues in and around Kolkata.

Also Read: Indian football team for the upcoming friendlies

Sixteen teams will be participating in the campaign, including four teams from the defence services. However, initially, the tournament began as an Army cup to keep the British soldiers fit. It was later available for the civilians and currently is one of the leading sports events.

RoyalScouts Fusiliers won the inaugural edition of the Durand Cup way back in 1888. Mohammedan Sporting Club was the first Indian club to win the cup in 1940 when the tournament shifted to Delhi. Mohun Bagan and East Bengal are the most successful teams in the history of the Durand cup winning it on sixteen occasions each.

Also Read: Most International Goals by Indian footballers

The winning team is presented with three trophies i.e.The Presiden’s Cup (first presented by Dr Rajendra Prasad, the Durand Cup (the original challenge prize, which is a rolling trophy) and the Shimla Trophy (first presented by citizens of Shimla in 1903 and since 1965, a rolling trophy).

Share on:

Follow US

SportzPoint Sign Up
Receive the latest news

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Get notified about new articles, news and offers!

Every result from India vs Pakistan Asia Cup Clash Haaland and Bonmati won the UEFA Player of the Year India vs Pakistan record in Asia Cup Kevin de Bruyne : Eight years of midfield magic at City Rohit Sharma’s strike rate vs average in ODIs Suryakumar Yadav gears up for Asia Cup 2023 Top 5 : Fastest batters to 5000 ODI runs Most 100s in international Cricket among Current Players KL Rahul will miss the group stage matches of the Asia Cup 2023 Manchester City forward wins PFA men’s Player of the Year award