East Bengal Club have been handed a Transfer ban yet again

The AIFF has handed a transfer ban to the East Bengal Club yet again regarding the non-payment of salaries to Indian players

Debangshu Biswas
New Update
East Bengal Club have been handed a transfer ban yet again | SportzPoint

Earlier in June, this year the East Bengal club faced a transfer ban from FIFA. Now they face yet another transfer ban, but this time from the AIFF. The AIFF handed the transfer ban over the non-payment of salaries to three Indian players. According to Goal, the three players are Rakshit Dagar, Abhas Thapa and Pintu Mahata. East Bengal signed them during the 2019/20 season.

Also Read: ISL 2021: Top 5 transfers for the upcoming season so far

The combined amount which is due is understood to be somewhere around INR 12 Lakh. While Pintu Mahata's salary due alone has risen up to INR 9 Lakh. Meanwhile, Pintu Mahata's case is still pending at the AIFF. Therefore, if the payments are not made in time and a ban is imposed on that issue, then East Bengal won't be able to appeal or lift it as it is a non-compliance of judicial decision.

Also Read: ISL Transfer News: Sandesh Jhingan might leave ATKMB for Europe

East Bengal club has to pay the entire amount within the next 45 working days to get rid of the ban. Although the AIFF has notified the current management about the dues, they are not liable to pay the amount. To clarify, these signings were made in the Quess East Bengal era. After the Quess Corp parted ways with the club, the liabilities automatically fall on the East Bengal club. As a result, the Shree Cement management are not liable to pay the amount as these liabilities occurred before September 1, 2020, when Shree Cement East Bengal management was formed.

The salary non-payment issue is not limited to just three players. Around 12 players and support staff including foreigners like Jaime Santos Colado and Carlos Nodar's salaries have not been cleared by the club yet.


Transfer Ban East Bengal