European Club and UEFA Champions League Finalists details since 1956

As Real Madrid and Liverpool are all set to play the 2021-22 UCL final, we present every European Club and UEFA Champions League Finalists.
European Club and UEFA Champions League Finalists details since 1956

UEFA Champions League is known as the most competitive football tournament in Europe. 32 teams from different leagues in Europe qualify for the tournament and take part in the tournament. However, before 1992, the tournament was called the European club. All the champions of the leagues of the Union of European Football Associations members automatically qualify for the tournament. In addition, teams in second to the fourth positions in those leagues also qualify for the tournament. This season, Real Madrid has qualified for their record 17th UCL final. Along with them, Liverpool will be playing their 10th UEFA Champions League final. On that occasion, we present to you all the European Club and UEFA Champions League finalists since the 1956 season.

European Club and UEFA Champions League Finalists since 1956

European Club and UEFA Champions League Finalists since 1956. Copyright – Sportz Point
1956Real Madrid4–3ReimsParc des Princes, Paris, France
1957Real Madrid2–0FiorentinaSantiago Bernabéu, Madrid, Spain
1958Real Madrid3–2MilanHeysel Stadium, Brussels, Belgium
1959Real Madrid2–0ReimsNeckarstadion, Stuttgart, West Germany
1960Real Madrid7–3Eintracht FrankfurtHampden Park, Glasgow, Scotland
1961Benfica3–2BarcelonaWankdorf Stadium, Bern, Switzerland
1962Benfica5–3Real MadridOlympisch Stadion, Amsterdam, Netherlands
1963Milan2–1BenficaWembley Stadium, London, England
1964Inter Milan3–1Real MadridPraterstadion, Vienna, Austria
1965Inter Milan1–0BenficaSan Siro, Milan, Italy
1966Real Madrid2–1PartizanHeysel Stadium, Brussels, Belgium
1967Celtic2–1Inter MilanEstádio Nacional, Lisbon, Portugal
1968Manchester United4–1BenficaWembley Stadium, London, England
1969Milan4–1AjaxSantiago Bernabéu, Madrid, Spain
1970Feyenoord2–1CelticSan Siro, Milan, Italy
1971Ajax2–0PanathinaikosWembley Stadium, London, England
1972Ajax2–0Inter MilanDe Kuip, Rotterdam, Netherlands
1973Ajax1–0JuventusRed Star Stadium, Belgrade, SFR Yugoslavia
1974Bayern Munich1–1Atlético MadridHeysel Stadium, Brussels, Belgium
1975Bayern Munich4–0 & 2–0Leeds UnitedParc des Princes, Paris, France
1976Bayern Munich1–0Saint-ÉtienneHampden Park, Glasgow, Scotland
1977Liverpool3–1Borussia MönchengladbachStadio Olimpico, Rome, Italy
1978Liverpool1–0Club BruggeWembley Stadium, London, England
1979Nottingham Forest1–0Malmö FFOlympiastadion, Munich, West Germany
1980Nottingham Forest1–0Hamburger SVSantiago Bernabéu, Madrid, Spain
1981Liverpool1–0Real MadridParc des Princes, Paris, France
1982Aston Villa1–0Bayern MunichDe Kuip, Rotterdam, Netherlands
1983Hamburger SV1–0JuventusOlympic Stadium, Athens, Greece
1984Liverpool1–1RomaStadio Olimpico, Rome, Italy
1985Juventus1–0LiverpoolHeysel Stadium, Brussels, Belgium
1986Steaua București0–0BarcelonaRamón Sánchez Pizjuán, Seville, Spain
1987Porto2–1Bayern MunichPraterstadion, Vienna, Austria
1988PSV Eindhoven0–0BenficaNeckarstadion, Stuttgart, West Germany
1989Milan4–0Steaua BucureștiCamp Nou, Barcelona, Spain
1990Milan1–0BenficaPraterstadion, Vienna, Austria
1991Red Star Belgrade0–0MarseilleStadio San Nicola, Bari, Italy
1992Barcelona1–0SampdoriaWembley Stadium, London, England
1993Marseille1–0MilanOlympiastadion, Munich, Germany
1994Milan4–0BarcelonaOlympic Stadium, Athens, Greece
1995Ajax1–0MilanErnst-Happel-Stadion, Vienna, Austria
1996Juventus1–1AjaxStadio Olimpico, Rome, Italy
1997Borussia Dortmund3–1JuventusOlympiastadion, Munich, Germany
1998Real Madrid1–0JuventusAmsterdam Arena, Amsterdam, Netherlands
1999Manchester United2–1Bayern MunichCamp Nou, Barcelona, Spain
2000Real Madrid3–0ValenciaStade de France, Saint-Denis, France
2001Bayern Munich1–1ValenciaSan Siro, Milan, Italy
2002Real Madrid2–1Bayer LeverkusenHampden Park, Glasgow, Scotland
2003Milan0–0JuventusOld Trafford, Manchester, England
2004Porto3–0MonacoArena AufSchalke, Gelsenkirchen, Germany
2005Liverpool3–3MilanAtatürk Olympic Stadium, Istanbul, Turkey
2006Barcelona2–1ArsenalStade de France, Saint-Denis, France
2007Milan2–1LiverpoolOlympic Stadium, Athens, Greece
2008Manchester United1–1ChelseaLuzhniki Stadium, Moscow, Russia
2009Barcelona2–0Manchester UnitedStadio Olimpico, Rome, Italy
2010Inter Milan2–0Bayern MunichSantiago Bernabéu, Madrid, Spain
2011Barcelona3–1Manchester UnitedWembley Stadium, London, England
2012Chelsea1–1Bayern MunichAllianz Arena, Munich, Germany
2013Bayern Munich2–1Borussia DortmundWembley Stadium, London, England
2014Real Madrid4–1Atlético MadridEstádio da Luz, Lisbon, Portugal
2015Barcelona3–1JuventusOlympiastadion, Berlin, Germany
2016Real Madrid1–1Atlético MadridSan Siro, Milan, Italy
2017Real Madrid4–1JuventusMillennium Stadium, Cardiff, Wales
2018Real Madrid3–1LiverpoolNSC Olimpiyskiy Stadium, Kyiv, Ukraine
2019Liverpool2–0Tottenham HotspurMetropolitano Stadium, Madrid, Spain
2020Bayern Munich1–0Paris Saint-GermainEstádio da Luz, Lisbon, Portugal
2021Chelsea1–0Manchester CityEstádio do Dragão, Porto, Portugal

Key Facts

  • Real Madrid has played most numbers of Finals (17).
  • Real Madrid has won the trophy most number of times (13).
  • Juventus is the club with most runners-up medals (7).
  • Valencia and Reims are the teams to play more than one European Cup and UCL final and win none.
  • Juventus have the worst winning ratio in the finals. 7 lost, 2 won. Meanwhile, Real Madrid has the best ratio in the finals. 13 won, 3 lost.
  • The 1973-74 final was the lone final which was replayed because there was no penalty rule that time. The final was played between Bayern Munich and Atletico Madrid.
  • The 1956-57 final between Real Madrid and Fiorentina still has the record of most attendance in tournament's history.

Follow us on Google News.

Related Stories

No stories found.