European Cup and UEFA Champions League Finalists in detail since 1956

As Real Madrid Football Club won their 15th UCL title in the 2023-24 season, we present to you all the European Cup and UEFA Champions League finalists since the 1956 season.

Koushik Biswas
New Update
Champions League winners since 1995-56 season -

The UEFA Champions League is known as the most competitive football tournament in Europe. 32 teams from different leagues in Europe qualify for the tournament and take part in the tournament. However, before 1992, the tournament was called the European Cup. All the champions of the leagues of the Union of European Football Associations members automatically qualify for the tournament. In addition, teams in second to fourth positions in those leagues also qualify for the tournament. As Real Madrid won their 15th UCL title in the 2023-24 season, we present to you all the European Cup and UEFA Champions League finalists since the 1956 season.

Read Also: Players with the most Champions League titles

European Cup and UEFA Champions League Finalists since 1956

Champions League finals from 1956 -

Year Winners Margin Runners-Up Venue
1956 Real Madrid 4–3 Reims Parc des Princes, Paris, France
1957 Real Madrid 2–0 Fiorentina Santiago Bernabéu, Madrid, Spain
1958 Real Madrid 3–2 Milan Heysel Stadium, Brussels, Belgium
1959 Real Madrid 2–0 Reims Neckarstadion, Stuttgart, West Germany
1960 Real Madrid 7–3 Eintracht Frankfurt Hampden Park, Glasgow, Scotland
1961 Benfica 3–2 Barcelona Wankdorf Stadium, Bern, Switzerland
1962 Benfica 5–3 Real Madrid Olympisch Stadion, Amsterdam, Netherlands
1963 Milan 2–1 Benfica Wembley Stadium, London, England
1964 Inter Milan 3–1 Real Madrid Praterstadion, Vienna, Austria
1965 Inter Milan 1–0 Benfica San Siro, Milan, Italy
1966 Real Madrid 2–1 Partizan Heysel Stadium, Brussels, Belgium
1967 Celtic 2–1 Inter Milan Estádio Nacional, Lisbon, Portugal
1968 Manchester United 4–1 Benfica Wembley Stadium, London, England
1969 Milan 4–1 Ajax Santiago Bernabéu, Madrid, Spain
1970 Feyenoord 2–1 Celtic San Siro, Milan, Italy
1971 Ajax 2–0 Panathinaikos Wembley Stadium, London, England
1972 Ajax 2–0 Inter Milan De Kuip, Rotterdam, Netherlands
1973 Ajax 1–0 Juventus Red Star Stadium, Belgrade, SFR Yugoslavia
1974 Bayern Munich 1–1 Atlético Madrid Heysel Stadium, Brussels, Belgium
1975 Bayern Munich 4–0 & 2–0 Leeds United Parc des Princes, Paris, France
1976 Bayern Munich 1–0 Saint-Étienne Hampden Park, Glasgow, Scotland
1977 Liverpool 3–1 Borussia Mönchengladbach Stadio Olimpico, Rome, Italy
1978 Liverpool 1–0 Club Brugge Wembley Stadium, London, England
1979 Nottingham Forest 1–0 Malmö FF Olympiastadion, Munich, West Germany
1980 Nottingham Forest 1–0 Hamburger SV Santiago Bernabéu, Madrid, Spain
1981 Liverpool 1–0 Real Madrid Parc des Princes, Paris, France
1982 Aston Villa 1–0 Bayern Munich De Kuip, Rotterdam, Netherlands
1983 Hamburger SV 1–0 Juventus Olympic Stadium, Athens, Greece
1984 Liverpool 1–1 Roma Stadio Olimpico, Rome, Italy
1985 Juventus 1–0 Liverpool FC Heysel Stadium, Brussels, Belgium
1986 Steaua București 0–0 FC Barcelona Ramón Sánchez Pizjuán, Seville, Spain
1987 FC Porto 2–1 Bayern Munich Praterstadion, Vienna, Austria
1988 PSV Eindhoven 0–0 Benfica Neckarstadion, Stuttgart, West Germany
1989 AC Milan 4–0 Steaua București Camp Nou, Barcelona, Spain
1990 AC Milan 1–0 Benfica Praterstadion, Vienna, Austria
1991 Red Star Belgrade 0–0 Marseille Stadio San Nicola, Bari, Italy
1992 FC Barcelona 1–0 Sampdoria Wembley Stadium, London, England
1993 Marseille 1–0 AC Milan Olympiastadion, Munich, Germany
1994 Milan 4–0 FC Barcelona Olympic Stadium, Athens, Greece
1995 Ajax 1–0 AC Milan Ernst-Happel-Stadion, Vienna, Austria
1996 Juventus 1–1 Ajax Stadio Olimpico, Rome, Italy
1997 Borussia Dortmund 3–1 Juventus FC  Olympiastadion, Munich, Germany
1998 Real Madrid 1–0 Juventus FC Amsterdam Arena, Amsterdam, Netherlands
1999 Manchester United 2–1 Bayern Munich Camp Nou, Barcelona, Spain
2000 Real Madrid 3–0 Valencia Stade de France, Saint-Denis, France
2001 FC Bayern Munich 1–1 Valencia San Siro, Milan, Italy
2002 Real Madrid 2–1 Bayer Leverkusen Hampden Park, Glasgow, Scotland
2003 AC Milan 0–0 Juventus FC  Old Trafford, Manchester, England
2004 FC Porto 3–0 Monaco Arena AufSchalke, Gelsenkirchen, Germany
2005 Liverpool FC  3–3 AC Milan Atatürk Olympic Stadium, Istanbul, Turkey
2006 FC Barcelona 2–1 Arsenal Stade de France, Saint-Denis, France
2007 AC Milan 2–1 Liverpool FC  Olympic Stadium, Athens, Greece
2008 Manchester United 1–1 Chelsea FC Luzhniki Stadium, Moscow, Russia
2009 FC Barcelona 2–0 Manchester United Stadio Olimpico, Rome, Italy
2010 Inter Milan 2–0 Bayern Munich Santiago Bernabéu, Madrid, Spain
2011 FC Barcelona 3–1 Manchester United Wembley Stadium, London, England
2012 Chelsea FC  1–1 FC Bayern Munich Allianz Arena, Munich, Germany
2013 FC Bayern Munich 2–1 Borussia Dortmund Wembley Stadium, London, England
2014 Real Madrid 4–1 Atlético Madrid Estádio da Luz, Lisbon, Portugal
2015 FC Barcelona 3–1 Juventus Olympiastadion, Berlin, Germany
2016 Real Madrid 1–1 Atlético Madrid San Siro, Milan, Italy
2017 Real Madrid 4–1 Juventus FC Millennium Stadium, Cardiff, Wales
2018 Real Madrid 3–1 Liverpool FC  NSC Olimpiyskiy Stadium, Kyiv, Ukraine
2019 Liverpool FC 2–0 Tottenham Hotspur Metropolitano Stadium, Madrid, Spain
2020 Bayern Munich 1–0 Paris Saint-Germain Estádio da Luz, Lisbon, Portugal
2021 Chelsea FC 1–0 Manchester City Estádio do Dragão, Porto, Portugal
2022 Real Madrid 1-0 Liverpool FC Stade de France, Saint-Denis, France
2023 Manchester City 1-0 Inter Milan  Atatürk Olympic Stadium, Istanbul, Turkey
2024 Real Madrid 2-0 Borussia Dortmund Wembley Stadium, London

Read Also: Which football manager has featured in five Champions League finals? Answer….Carlo Ancelotti

Key Facts

  • Real Madrid has played the most number of Finals (18).
  • Real Madrid has won the trophy the most number of times (15).
  • Juventus is the club with the most runners-up medals (7).
  • Valencia and Reims are the teams to play more than one European Cup and UCL final and win none.
  • Juventus have the worst winning ratio in the finals. 7 lost, 2 won. Meanwhile, Real Madrid has the best ratio in the finals. 134 won, 3 lost.
  • The 1973-74 final was the lone final which was replayed because there was no penalty rule at that time. The final was played between Bayern Munich and Atletico Madrid.
  • The 1956-57 final between Real Madrid and Fiorentina still has the record for most attendance in the tournament's history.
Uefa Champions League Real Madrid Fc Barcelona Fc Porto Manchester United Liverpool Fc Ac Milan Inter Milan Chelsea Fc Manchester City Ajax Borussia Dortmund Juventus Fc Fc Bayern Munich Benfica