FIFA Women's World Cup 2023 Top Goal Scorers: Japan's Hinata Miyazawa wins the Golden Boot

Japan's Hinata Miyazawa wins the Golden Boot of the FIFA Women's World Cup 2023 with five goals to her name.

Abishek Goswami
New Update
Women's World Cup 2023 | FIFA Women's World Cup 2023 Top Goal Scorers: Japan's Hinata Miyazawa wins the Golden Boot | Sportz Point

The FIFA Women's World Cup 2023 finally came to an end as Spain lifted their maiden Women's major title after Defeating England by 1-0 at the Sydney Olympic Stadium. Alongside the battle for the title, there were also some key individual battles going on, and one of those was for the Golden Boot. The biggest stars in women's football fought for their respective teams to help them win the most precious competition of Football.

The Golden Boot is an honorable and competitive prize. The recent tournaments have seen the award won by a low-key final goal tally. The past three Golden Boots have been secured with a maximum of six goals scored but this time it settled down to five. Japan's Hinata Miyazawa won the FIFA Women's World Cup 2023 Golden Boot. Amanda Ilestedt, Jill Roord, Alexandra Popp, Kadidiatou Diani, and some other players were also in the race but couldn't extend their tally over more than four goals. So after the final, We've now gotten our Golden Boot winner of the FIFA WWC 2023.

Read Also: FIFA Women's World Cup 2023: Olga Carmona's strike earned the maiden World Cup title for La Roja

FIFA Women's World Cup 2023: Top Goal Scorers -

There were a total of 160 goals scored in 64 matches at the FIFA Women's World Cup, including eight own goals.

Rank Player Team Goals

Assists Matches Minutes

1. Hinata Miyazawa Japan 5 (0) 1 5 336
2. Kadidiatou Diani France 4 (2) 3 5 449
  Alexandra Popp Germany 4 (1) 0 3 263
  Jill Roord Netherlands 4 (0) 0 5 419
  Amanda Ilestedt Sweden 4 (0) 0 7 632
6. Lauren James England 3 (0) 3 4 287
  Aita Bonmati Spain 3 (0) 2 7 585
  Jennifer Hermoso Spain 3 (0) 2 6 527
  Ary Borges Brazil 3 (0) 1 2 206
  Alba Redondo Spain 3 (0) 1 6 333
  Lauren Hemp England 3 (0) 1 6 430
  Sophie Roman Haug Norway 3 (0) 0 3 253
  Eugenie Le Sommer France 3 (0) 0 4 356
  Rebecka Blomqvist Sweden 3 (0) 0 6 158
  Alessia Russo England 3 (0) 0 6 482
  Fridolina Rolfo Sweden 3 (1) 0 6 502
  Hayley Raso Australia 3 (0) 0 7 566
  • 2 goals: 16 players
  • 1 goal: 67 players
  • Own goals: 8 players

Women's World Cup Golden Boot 2023:

Japan's Hinata Miyazawa was crowned the 2023 Golden Boot winner with five goals to her name. Japan were knocked out in the quarterfinals but still, no one could go past her.

Before the start of the tournament, USWNT veteran Alex Morgan was originally predicted. She failed to score in the tournament and missed a penalty in the opening win over Vietnam. Australia star and Chelsea striker Sam Kerr was another favourite. Unfortunately, she sustained a pre-tournament injury and missed all the group matches.

Miyazawa scored twice in Japan's 4-0 rout of Spain in their final group match. Then, she added another in the Round of 16 win over Norway. Germany's Alexandra Popp and Sweden's Amanda Ilestedt finished with four goals. Brazil's young sensation, Ary Borges ended on three before they got knocked out. For the Champions, Bonmati, Hermoso, and Redondo finished with three goals each. As for the Runners-Up, Lauren James, Hemp, and Russo finished with three goals each.

Golden Boot tiebreakers

FIFA rules over Golden Boot tiebreakers come into play if more than one player scores the same amount of goals at the end of the tournament. In that instance, assists will be used as the first tiebreaker. That will be followed by minutes played with the player compiling her goals in the fewest minutes ranking higher.

Most goals by a player in a single Women's World Cup

Year Player Country Goals
1991 Michelle Akers USA 10
1991 Heidi Mohr Germany 7
1999 Sun Wen China 7
1999 Sissi Brazil 7
2003 Birgit Prinz Germany 7
2007 Marta Brazil 7
Womens Football Football Women In Sports Fifa Fifa Womens World Cup 2023 Alexia Putellas Sam Kerr Hinata Miyazawa Alex Morgan Ary Borges Linda Caicedo