Golden ball winner in FIFA Club World Cup: Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi and more

Being awarded the Golden ball winner in FIFA Club World Cup is a massive achievement for any top player or superstar.

Avignyan Mukhopadhyay
New Update

Vinicius Jr wins the Golden ball award for the 2022 Club World Cup as Real Madrid win their fifth trophy after beating Al Hilal 5-3 in Morocco. Being awarded the Golden ball winner in FIFA Club World Cup is a massive achievement for any top player.

Like all other editions, the golden ball award will be presented to the best player of the competition. The primary shortlist will be drawn up by the FIFA Technical Committee and the winner will be subsequently voted by media representatives. The runner-up and the second runner-up are presented with the silver and bronze ball awards respectively.

Golden ball winner in FIFA Club World Cup | Ronaldo | Sportz Point

Cristiano Ronaldo won the golden ball in 2017 (Image- Marca)

Cristiano Ronaldo has won the most number of individual awards (4) including one golden ball. Whereas Lionel Messi is the only player to have won two golden balls.

Four Brazilians have won the golden ball awards, including midfield legend Kaka, the most by any nation. Meanwhile, Real Madrid and FC Barcelona are the two most successful clubs with four golden ball winners each.

Thiago Silva | Sportz Point

Thiago Silva won the golden ball in 2021 (Image- Metro UK)

Let us now take a look at the golden ball winner in the FIFA Club World Cup to date:

Player Goals Assists Minutes Played
Edilson (Corinthians, 2000) 2 0 383
Rogerio Ceni (Sao Paulo, 2005) 1 0 180
Deco (Barcelona, 2006) 1 1 180
Kaka (AC Milan, 2007) 1 3 180
Wayne Rooney (Manchester United, 2008) 3 0 106
Lionel Messi (Barcelona, 2009) 2 0 157
Samuel Etoo (Inter Milan, 2010) 1 1 180
Lionel Messi (Barcelona, 2011) 2 0 157
Cassio (Corinthians, 2012) 0 0 2012
Franck Ribery (Bayern Munich, 2013) 1 0 162
Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid, 2014) 2 0 153
Luis Suarez (Barcelona, 2015) 5 0 180
Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid, 2016) 4 0 202
Luka Modric (Real Madrid, 2017) 0 1 180
Gareth Bale (Real Madrid, 2018) 3 0 150
Mohamed Salah (Liverpool, 2019) 0 1 210
Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich, 2020) 2 1 163
Thiago Silva (Chelsea, 2021) 0 0 180
Vinicius Jr 4 0 180
Real Madrid Fc Barcelona Cristiano Ronaldo Chelsea Fc Lionel Messi Fifa Club World Cup