ISL 2022-23 Final: Vishal Kaith's save in the penalty shootout helped ATK Mohun Bagan to win their maiden Indian Super League Title

ATK Mohun Bagan clinched their maiden title after Petratos' two-goal brilliance & Vishal Kaith's unbelievable saves caused the reason for Bengaluru FC's defeat in the ISL 2022-23 Final.

Abishek Goswami
New Update
ISL 2022-23: Dimitri Petratos | Sportz Point

ATK Mohun Bagan won their maiden title after beating Bengaluru FC by 4-3 on to the penalties in the ISL 2022-23 Final. Petratos scored the two goals for Mohun Bagan while Sunil Chhetri & Roy Krishna were on the scoresheet for the Blues. The match headed toward the extra time but still, remained even. In the Penalty Shootout, Vishal Kaith saved Bruno's penalty which gave them the lead & Perez's miss was all they needed for the victory. Bengaluru FC tried their best but the missed opportunities caused the heavy loss.

The Champion of ISL 2022-23: ATK Mohun Bagan | Sportz Point

The Champion of ISL 2022-23: ATK Mohun Bagan


Read Also: Barcelona vs Real Madrid: La Liga Match Preview, Predicted Line-ups and Fantasy XI

ISL 2022-23 Final: ATK Mohun Bagan vs Bengaluru FC

First Half:

ATK Mohun Bagan kept the majority of the possession while Bengaluru relied on counter-attacking fast-paced football. Mohun Bagan just replicated their Semi-Final style of play by defending low on the pitch. Siva Sakthi got sandwiched between Carl McHugh and Ashique in the second minute of the game and he went down with a bleeding nose. Sunil Chhetri came as a sub as Siva Sakthi couldn't continue his game anymore.

ISL 2022-23 Final: Petratos gave the early lead to ATK Mohun Bagan

ATKMB's counterattack earned a corner in the 12th minute. Petratos took the corner kick and the ball after a header got saved by Bengaluru shot-stopper Gurpreet. However, the referee pointed to the spot for a Krishna handball in the penalty box. The ATK Mohun Bagan forward Petratos went to his left. Gurpreet jumped on the same side but failed to stop the bullet of a hit. ATK Mohun Bagan takes the early lead in the final in only the 14th minute of the game. Bengaluru FC decided to play with slow build-ups to push the Mariners into its own half and then speed up its attack. Simon Grayson's side suffered two early blows, Siva's injury and a goal after a poor mistake by Roy Krishna.

ATKMB started scoring very early from the Penalty spot | Sportz Point

ATKMB started scoring very early from the Penalty spot
Image -

Bengaluru FC got a free-kick in the 25th minute in front of the box and Javi went for the free-kick. The Spaniard has scored from there before, in the ISL and he managed to keep the shot on target. Kaith, the winner of the Golden Glove, proved himself worthy of the prize as he made a brilliant save.

ISL 2022-23 Final: Sunil Chhetri's Equaliser for Bengaluru FC

Roy Krishna got to the ball and Subhasish followed him. The ATKMB player tried to get the ball off Krishna but missed the ball and caught the shin of the BFC player in the penalty box. However, the referee did not give a spot-kick after continues protests from the BFC players. In the 45+8 minutes of the game, Subhasish tried to clear the ball but failed big time, and the kick landed on Krishna's knee in the penalty box. The referee pointed to the spot for the Penalty. ISL's all-time top scorer Sunil Chhetri stepped up for the spot-kick. The Indian captain left Kaith on the other side as his kick ended up in the back of the net for the crucial equaliser which was the last kick of the first half.

ISL 2022-23: Sunil Chhetri's Equaliser | Sportz Point

Sunil Chhetri's Equaliser
Image - Twitter/Bengaluru FC

Second Half:

Bengaluru FC had two center-backs rooted in front of its goal as it found new life after the Chhetri goal. ATK Mohun Bagan meanwhile tried to exploit the flanks with long balls for Ashique. Liston Colaco won the ball in the midfield and tried a shot from distance. His shot was on target but Gurpreet made an equally good save and Petratos failed to keep the shot on target in the follow-up. A Terrible miss from the goal scorer. Suresh Singh delivered the corner kick and the ball headed into the net by Roy Krishna. Simon Grayson punched in the air and BFC found the all-important lead in the 78th minute of the Final.

Six minutes after the goal, Pablo Perez fouled Kiyan Nassiri, and the referee pointed to the spot. Gurpreet jumped on the correct side again but got beaten by Petratos' force and speed. ATK Mohun Bagan and Bengaluru FC came back on level terms. Manvir made a gorgeous run along the right flank, beating his marker, and the cross was steered on target by Petratos. Prabir made a goal-line clearance to deny a certain stoppage-time winner. The regulation time ended in 2-2.

Extra Time:

Perez got fouled by Damjanvic as Bengaluru FC got a free-kick at the start of the extra time. Sunil Chhetri stepped up for the kick. He delivered a lofted ball for Udanta whose header just flew over the net. Bengaluru FC started an attack against the run of play after the Blues cleared Petratos' free-kick. Udanta made a lovely run into the final third. Colaco tried to stop him but failed and his cross reached Sunil on the other side. In the 119th minute, Petratos hit from a distance and caught Gurpreet off-guard. The Indian goalie tried to knuckle the ball out but he lost his footing and the ball somehow curved and missed the net. Chhetri, however, failed to get his head over the ball for a header. After 120 minutes of action, the match went into an eventual penalty shootout.

It remained 0-0 till the end of the Extra Time | Sportz Point

It remained 0-0 till the end of the Extra Time
Image - Twitter/ISL


  • Costa scored for BFC: ATKMB 0-1 BFC on penalties
  • Petratos scored: ATKMB 1-1 BFC
  • Krishna scored: ATKMB 1-2 BFC
  • Colaco scored for ATK Mohun Bagan: ATKMB 2-2 BFC
  • Bruno's shot got saved by Kaith: ATKMB 2-2 BFC
  • Kiyan scored for ATKMB: ATKMB 3-2 BFC
  • Sunil Chhetri scored: ATKMB 3-3 BFC
  • Manvir scored for ATKMB: ATKMB 4-3 BFC
  • Perez missed the penalty: ATKMB 4-3 BFC
ISL 2022-23: Vishal Kaith's celebration after the save | Sportz Point

Vishal Kaith's celebration after the save
Image -

ATK Mohun Bagan beat Bengaluru FC 4-3 on penalties to win the Indian Super League title. A save off Bruno's kick and a miss by Perez were enough for the Mariners to win the ISL title.

Football Indian Football Isl Bengaluru Fc Sunil Chhetri Fifa Gurpreet Singh Sandhu Atk Mohun Bagan Isl 2022 2023 Isl Stats Roy Krishna