Ruben Dias wins the Premier League Player of the season

Share on:

Follow us on Google News:

Ruben Dias wins the PFA player of the year - SportzPoint
Brilliant defensive display from Ruben Dias earns him the PFA player of the season title, his boss also bagged the manager of the season award after winning his 3rd league title in just four seasons.
Web Stories

Manchester City star defender Ruben Dias wins the Premier League player of the season. Ruben Dias had an excellent contribution to City’s title run this season. He did a wonderful job in his debut season for City after they brought him from Benfica for £65m.

Dias beats his City teammate plus Captain Kevin De Bruyne and Tottenham star Harry Kane to the award. Two years in a row a player from Manchester City has won the PFA player of the season award. Last year it was Kevin De Bruyne and this year it’s his new teammate. Bruno Fernandes, Jack Grealish, Mohamed Salah, Mason Mount were all on the shortlist of nominations.

Ruben Dias has scored 1 goal and kept 15 clean sheets in his 32 appearances. His partnership with Stones at the heart of the city defence stopped the goal conceding flow and restricted it to mere 32 goals in the league. They went on a stomping 15 match winning streak in midseason increasing Dias’s impact on the team.

Previous Defenders to win the Player of the season award

Ruben Dias puts himself on an elite list of defenders after winning the PFA player of the season title:

  • Nemanja Vidić (08/09)
  • Nemanja Vidić (10/11)
  • Vincent Kompany (11/12)
  • Virgil Van Dijk (18/19)
  • Rúben Dias (20/21)

Pep Guardiola wins Manager of the season

Pep Guardiola wins the 2021 manager of the year - SportzPoint
Pep wins his 3rd league titles in 4 seasons
Image – Wall Street Journal

Ruben Dias’s boss Pep Guardiola also managed to bag the award of Manager of the season after guiding City to its fifth premier league title. The Spaniard earned his third league title in just four years. Guardiola beat the likes of Marco Bielsa, Ole Gunner Solskjaer, David Moyes and Leicester boss Brendan Rodgers to win his third manager of the season title.

Guardiola’s team scored the most number of goals (83) and conceded the least (32) across the campaign and went on a 21 game winning streak in all competitions.

Also Read: Thomas Tuchel extends Chelsea contract until 2024

Share on:

Follow US

SportzPoint Sign Up
Receive the latest news

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Get notified about new articles, news and offers!

India enters World Cup 2023 as Number 1 team ICC Men’s ODI Team Rankings Kushal Malla breaks Rohit Sharma’s fastest T20I hundred record Five players not backed by Rohit Sharma as Indian captain Most Successful batting pairs in One Day International Players with most centuries in ODI world cup Shami vs Thakur- The debate that never was Once a modern ODI great, Shikhar Dhawan has faded away unnoticed Shubman Gill became the fastest player to score 6 ODI hundreds Suryakumar breaks Virat’s fastest fifty record