Australian Open Winners list (Women)

Aryna Sabalenka of Belarus has become the champion in the women's singles event of the Australian Open 2023.

Follow Us On Google News

Australian Open Winners list (Women)

Australian Open Winners list (Women) | Sportz Point
Aryna Sabalenka of Belarus has become the champion in the women's singles event of the Australian Open 2023.

Follow Us On Google News

Web Stories

The Australian Open is one of the four Grand Slam tournaments in tennis and is held annually in Melbourne, Australia. The women’s tournament has seen a number of talented players win the title in recent years. The Australian Open winners list (Women) are given below.

Australian Open Winners list (Women) | Sportz Point
Aryna Sabalenka with her Australian Open 2023 title. Image- The Japan Times

Serena Williams, Victoria Azarenka, and Naomi Osaka are some of the recent popular players who have won the Australian Open multiple times. In 2021, Naomi Osaka became the first player from Japan to win the Australian Open. She defeated American Jennifer Brady in the final. Naomi Osaka also won the tournament in 2019, becoming the first Asian player to win a Grand Slam singles title. Sofia Kenin, who hails from the United States, won the 2020 tournament, beating Spain’s Garbiñe Muguruza in the final. Kenin, who was just 21 years old at the time, became the youngest player to win the Australian Open since Maria Sharapova in 2008.

In 2018, Denmark’s Caroline Wozniacki won her first Grand Slam title, defeating Romania’s Simona Halep in the final. Wozniacki had previously been the runner-up at the tournament in 2011 and 2014. Serena Williams, who is widely considered one of the greatest female players of all time, won the Australian Open in 2017 and 2015. She defeated her sister Venus Williams in 2017 final and defeated Maria Sharapova in the 2015 final.

Meanwhile, Aryna Sabalenka of Belarus has become the champion in the women’s singles event of the Australian Open 2023. In the title match, Sabalenka defeated Elena Rybakina of Kazakhstan 4-6, 6-3, 6-4. Here is the full list.

Australian Open Winners list (Women):

2000Lindsay DavenportMartina Hingis
2001Jennifer CapriatiMartina Hingis
2002Jennifer CapriatiMartina Hingis
2003Serena WilliamsVenus Williams
2004Justine HeninKim Clijsters
2005Serena WilliamsLindsay Davenport
2006Amélie MauresmoJustine Henin
2007Serena WilliamsMaria Sharapova
2008Maria SharapovaAna Ivanovic
2009Serena WilliamsDinara Safina
2010Serena WilliamsJustine Henin
2011Kim ClijstersLi Na
2012Victoria AzarenkaMaria Sharapova
2013Victoria AzarenkaLi Na
2014Li NaDominika Cibulková
2015Serena WilliamsMaria Sharapova
2016Angelique KerberSerena Williams
2017Serena WilliamsVenus Williams
2018Caroline WozniackiSimona Halep
2019Naomi OsakaPetra Kvitová
2020Sofia KeninGarbiñe Muguruza
2021Naomi OsakaJennifer Brady
2022Ashleigh BartyDanielle Collins
2023Aryna SabalenkaElena Rybakina

Share On

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Social Media

Recent News

SportzPoint Sign Up
Receive the latest news

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Get notified about new articles, news and offers!

The schedule of the Indian team till November Lowest Team Totals in Indian Premier League Most sixes in the 20th Over of an IPL match Issy Wong picks 1st hattrick of Women Premier League 2023 5 Indian cricketer who haven’t scored a single IPL centrury Century stand for RCB in IPL chases Most Free Kick Goals in Football History Messi vs Ronaldo: The Free Kicks stats ICC ODI BOWLING RANKINGS ICC Rankings: Mohammed Siraj loses No.1 spot