US Open Champion: Last 10 years (Men)

US Open Champion: Last 10 years (Men)

Carlos Alcaraz has won US Open 2022 (men) title for the first time in his career. Moreover, he is the second youngest player who achieved this title.

The US Open Championships is one of the oldest tennis championships in the world. It is also known as the U.S. National Championship. It is a hardcourt tennis tournament held annually in Queens, New York. The tournament first started in 1987, which consisted of five primary championships: men's and women's singles, men's and women's doubles, and mixed doubles. Here we will look at the US Open champion (men) from the last 10 years.

The US Open has been chronologically the fourth and final Grand Slam tournament of the year. The other three are the Australian Open, French Open, and Wimbledon. Carlos Alcaraz has won US Open 2022 (men) title for the first time in his career. Moreover, he is the second youngest player who achieved this title. Besides, there are many more champions who have won men's singles titles in US Open. So, let's have a look at the men's US Open champion list from the last 10 years.

1. 2013 US Open Champion | Rafael Nadal

Image- The Mirror

Spanish tennis star Rafael Nadal defeated top seed Serbian Novak Djokovic 6-2, 3-6, 6-4, 6-1 to clinch his US Open 2013 title in a four-set match. This was the 18th Grand Slam final match of Rafael Nadal's career, in which he won his 13th title. With this victory on the hardcourt, Rafael Nadal was considered the 'King of Clay Court', and has received a bounty of 36 million US dollars, and with this, the amount of Nadal's victory so far has increased to 60 million dollars.

2. 2014 US Open Champion | Marin Čilić

Image- Sportsnet

Croatia's Marin Čilić beat Kei Nishikori of Japan to win the men's singles title of the year's final Grand Slam US Open 2014. The tournament's 14th seed Čilić, who stunned the veterans, defeated 10th seed Nishikori 6-3, 6-3, 6-3 in straight sets. It was his first Grand Slam title. Earlier, he had reached the quarter-finals in 2012 and 2009. A year ago, Cilic faced a four-month ban for consuming banned drugs.

3. 2015 US Open Champion | Novak Djokovic

Novak Djokovic once again became a hindrance to Roger Federer's record 18th Grand Slam win. The 34-year-old Federer once again reached the final and lost the title battle and that too to Djokovic in US Open 2015. It was Federer's second defeat at the hands of Djokovic in the final in New York. Djokovic defeated Federer 6-4, 5-7, 6-4, 6-4 in a rain-stopped title fight. This was Djokovic's third Grand Slam win in 2015. Earlier, he had won the Australian Open and Wimbledon.

4. 2016 US Open Champion | Stan Wawrinka

Image- YouTube

Stan Wawrinka made a big upset in the final of the US Open 2016 to capture his third Grand Slam title. Third seed Wawrinka defeated top seed Novak Djokovic to win the US Open title for the first time. Swiss tennis player defeated defending champion Djokovic in the final, 6-7 (1/7), 6-4, 7-5, 6-3, over 12-time Grand Slam champion Djokovic in a match that lasted nearly four hours. With this win, Wawrinka took the number of her Grand Slam titles to three. Prior to this, Wawrinka won the Australian Open in 2014 and the French Open in 2015. Moreover, after the win, Wawrinka became the oldest player to win the US Open in 46 years. Earlier, Pete Sampras won the US Open at the age of 30.

5. 2017 US Open Champion | Rafael Nadal


Spain's Rafael Nadal, the world's number one male tennis player, proved his dominance in the US Open 2017 by capturing the title. Nadal defeated Kevin Anderson of South Africa 6-3, 6-4 in the final in New York. This was Nadal's 16th Grand Slam title. Nadal had previously won the US Open in 2010 and 2013 as well. Nadal has also won the French Open 10 times (2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2017), Wimbledon twice (2008, 2010) and the Australian Open (2009).

6. 2018 US Open Champion | Novak Djokovic

Novak Djokovic defeated Juan Martin del Potro to win his third US Open title and equaled Pete Sampras' 14 Grand Slam titles. Novak Djokovic, who played the US Open final for the eighth time, won by 6.3, 7.65, 6.3. He has also won titles here in 2011 and 2015 and was three behind Rafael Nadal and six behind Roger Federer in terms of Grand Slam titles. The Serbian player did not play the previous year due to an elbow injury. Djokovic also won the Wimbledon title that year.

7. 2019 US Open Champion | Rafael Nadal

Image- CBS Sports

Rafael Nadal defeated Daniil Medvedev 7-5, 6-3, 5-7, 4-6, 6-4 to win the US Open 2019 title for the fourth time in a marathon match of five sets that lasted almost five hours. With this win, Nadal captured the 19th title of his career and the fourth title of the US Open. Prior to this, he won the US Open title in 2010, 2013, and 2017. It was his second Grand Slam title that year. Nadal also won the French Open that year.

8. 2020 US Open Champion | Dominic Thiem

Image- Eurosport

The US Open 2020 got its new champion after six years. Germany's Alexander Zverev and Austria's Dominic Thiem both reached the finals of the US Open for the first time. Dominic Thiem defeated Alexander Zverev 2-6, 4-6, 6-4, 6-3, 7-6 (6) in the final match of the men's category at the US Open 2020 to capture the title for the first time. It was the first time, the winner was decided through a tiebreaker. It was the first time in sixteen years, that the Big Three (Federer, Nadal, and Djokovic) were not included in the Grand Slam semi-finals. Rafael Nadal did not participate because of the Corona epidemic. Federer is on rest after two knee operations while Djokovic was ruled out for inadvertently hitting a line judge in the pre-quarters.

9. 2021 US Open Champion | Daniil Medvedev

In a match that lasted 2 hours and 16 minutes, Daniil Medvedev defeated Novak Djokovic 6-4, 6-4, 6-4 in straight sets. This was the first Grand Slam title of the Russian tennis star. Medvedev won that match 6-4, 6-4, 6-4. With this first big win, he washed away many of Novak Djokovic's dreams. If Novak Djokovic had won the US Open 2021 title, he would have been the first male player to win the career Grand Slam after 52 years. The world number one Serbian tennis star had captured all three of the Australian Open, Wimbledon, and French Open that year. But, Medvedev became an obstacle for him on the way to the US Open.

10. 2022 US Open Champion | Carlos Alcaraz

Image- Sky Sports

The 19-year-old, Carlos Alcaraz has become the second youngest player in the Open Era after American great Pete Sampras. Pete Sampras won the US Open title in 1990 at the age of 19. Alcaraz defeated Casper Ruud to win his first Grand Slam title at the US Open 2022. The US Open has got the youngest champion after 32 years. Carlos defeated Casper Ruud of Norway 6-4, 2-6, 7-6(1), 6-3 in the final of the US Open 2022 to win his first Grand Slam title and become the world number one player for the first time. With this win, Alcaraz has replaced Daniil Medvedev of Russia to take the number one spot.

Follow us on Google News.