US Open Champion: Last 10 years (Women)

In the 2022 US Open women’s final, Iga Świątek battled past Ons Jabeur 6-2, 7-6 (7-5) for her second Grand Slam win of the season. With this win, Swiatek became the first woman to win seven titles in one year since Serena Williams in 2014.
Iga Świątek battled past Ons Jabeur for her second Grand Slam win of the season. Image- News18
Iga Świątek battled past Ons Jabeur for her second Grand Slam win of the season. Image- News18
Author :

The US Open Championships is one of the oldest tennis championships in the world. It is also known as the U.S. National Championship. It is a hardcourt tennis tournament held annually in Queens, New York. The tournament first started in 1987, which consisted of five primary championships: men's and women's singles, men's and women's doubles, and mixed doubles. Here we will look at the US Open champion (women) from the last 10 years.

The US Open has been chronologically the fourth and final Grand Slam tournament of the year. The other three are the Australian Open, French Open, and Wimbledon. Iga Świątek has won US Open 2022 (men) title and bagged her third Grand Slam title as well. Moreover, she is the second youngest player who achieved this title. Besides, there are many more champions who have won women's singles titles in US Open. So, let's have a look at the women's US Open champion list from the last 10 years.

1. 2013 US Open Champion | Serena Williams


Serena Williams defeated Belarusian tennis player Victoria Azarenka to become the 2013 US Open champion. It was the fifth US Open title of her career and her second in a row. For the second consecutive year, Williams lost only one set during the tournament, again to Azarenka in the final. Moreover, it was Serena's 17th Grand Slam singles title, the sixth-most in history and one shy of Martina Navratilova and Chris Evert. 

2. 2014 US Open Champion | Serena Williams 


Serena Williams dominated Caroline Wozniacki 6-3, 6-3 to win the 2014 US Open title. It was her Open Era-record-equaling sixth US Open singles title and 18th major singles title overall, equaling Martina Navratilova and Chris Evert's tally. She did not lose a set during the tournament for a record-equaling third time, and did not lose more than three games in any set.

3. 2015 US Open Champion | Flavia Pennetta

Italy's Flavia Pennetta beat fellow Italian, and her childhood friend, Roberta Vinci 7-6 (4), 6-2 for her first Grand Slam championship title. Pennetta was competing in her 49th major main draw, setting a new record for the most appearances in major main draws before reaching a final. At age 34, Pennetta became the oldest first-time Grand Slam champion in the US Open. Shortly after her win, Pennetta announced she would retire from tennis.

4. 2016 US Open Champion | Angelique Kerber 

Image- CNN

German tennis player Angelique Kerber defeated Karolína Plíšková 6-3, 4-6, 6-4 to earn her second major singles title. Kerber, who won the Australian Open that same year, became the first player to win both hard-court majors in the same year since Martina Hingis in 1997. She also attained the world No. 1 ranking for the first time after Serena Williams failed to reach the final.

5. 2017 US Open Champion | Sloane Stephens

At the 2017 US Open, unseeded Sloan Stephens prevailed over Madison Keys in the first all-American women's singles championship since the Williams sisters went head-to-head in 2002. During just one hour of play, Stephens defeated Keys 6-3, 6-0. It was her first major title. Stephens became the second unseeded woman in the Open Era to win the title after Kim Clijsters in 2009.

6. 2018 US Open Champion | Naomi Osaka

In a breakout performance at the 2018 US Open, Naomi Osaka defeated Serena Williams 6-2, 6-4 to become Japan's first-ever tennis player to win a Grand Slam singles title. She lost only one set during the tournament, to Aryna Sabalenka in the fourth round. Following the win, Osaka also made her top 10 rankings debut. If Williams won the title, she would have tied Margaret Court's all-time record of 24 Grand Slam singles titles.

7. 2019 US Open Champion | Bianca Andreescu

Image- Times Now

Canadian tennis player Bianca Andreescu won her first Grand Slam trophy at the 2019 US Open. She defeated 23-time winner Serena Williams 6-3, 7-5. Andreescu became the first Canadian, as well as the first player born in the 2000s, to win a major singles title. In addition, she was the youngest person since Svetlana Kuznetsova in 2004 to win a major singles title, and the first woman to win the US Open on her main draw debut. Andreescu also became the first Canadian to reach the semifinals in the tournament since Carling Bassett-Seguso in 1984 and she was also the first Canadian woman to reach the final in any major since Eugenie Bouchard in the 2014 Wimbledon Championships.

8. 2020 US Open Champion | Naomi Osaka

Japan's Naomi Osaka won her second US Open singles title in just three years at the 2020 US Open, defeating Victoria Azarenka 1-6, 6-3, 6-3. Osaka also became the first woman since Arantxa Sánchez-Vicario in 1994 to win the US Open after dropping the first set. It was also her third major title overall. Osaka became the first player from an Asian country (excluding Russia) to win three major singles titles, the first player since Jennifer Capriati to win three such titles in three attempts.

9. 2021 US Open Champion | Emma Raducanu

It was a battle between teenage upstarts Emma Raducanu and Leylah Fernandez at the 2021 US Open. British qualifier Raducanu defeated Fernandez in the final, 6-4, 6-3, to win her first Grand Slam title. she became the first British woman to win a singles major since Virginia Wade at the 1977 Wimbledon Championships, and the second player to win the US Open on her debut after Bianca Andreescu in 2019. Aged 18, she also became the youngest major champion since Maria Sharapova at the 2004 Wimbledon Championships.  

10. 2022 US Open Champion | Iga Świątek 

Image- Reuters

In the 2022 US Open women's final, Iga Świątek battled past Ons Jabeur 6-2, 7-6 (7-5) for her second Grand Slam win of the season. With this win, Swiatek became the first woman to win seven titles in one year since Serena Williams in 2014. The world No1 also matched a Serena Williams record by claiming her tenth straight finals victory. Moreover, Świątek became the first Polish woman in the Open Era to reach the US Open quarterfinals, semifinals, and final. Świątek also became the youngest woman to win three majors since Maria Sharapova in 2008.

Related Stories

No stories found.