Most Bundesliga titles

The Bundesliga was founded in 1962 and replaced the German national championship

The league started with 16 teams but expanded to 18 teams in 1965

The DDR-Oberliga was the top-level league in East Germany before the reunification, after which the Bundesliga became the national league

Bayer Lverkusen became the 11th team to win the Bundesliga as Xabi Alosno's men created history on Sunday.

Bayern Munich is the most successful team in the history of the Bundesliga, with 32 titles to their name.

Borussia Dortmund is the second most successful team in the Bundesliga, with 5 titles

Borussia Monchengladbach won 5 titles, placing them in third place in the list.

Werder Bremen finished second seven times in the Bundesliga and have won 4 titles. They won in 1964–65, 1987–88, 1992–93, 2003–04.

Hamburger SV and VfB Stuttgart have won the Bundesliga titles 3 times placing them at number five and six repsectively.