Abhimanyu Easwaran is still hopeful about getting an opportunity for the Indian team in future

Mumbai batter Sarfaraz Ahmed and Bengal player Abhimanyu Easwaran didn't get the callup from BCCI for India's tour of West Indies.

Abishek Goswami
New Update
Abhimanyu Easwaran | Abhimanyu Easwaran is still hopeful about getting an opportunity for the Indian team in future | Sportz Point

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Friday (June 23) announced the Indian team for the upcoming tour of the West Indies. Rohit Sharma will continue to lead the team in the Test format and Shubman Gill has retained his place as well. Veteran batter Cheteshwar Pujara has lost his place after failing to impress in the recently concluded ICC World Test Championship final against Australia. The surprising thing about this whole thing was, neither Abhimanyu Easwaran nor Sarfaraz Khan got the call-up from BCCI.

Read Also: ICC World Cup 2023: Fixture, Schedule, and PDF Download

It is highly questioning the credibility of the Indian domestic circuit. Many ex-Indian cricketers and pundits feel they should have got the opportunity by now but it never happened. Abhimanyu Easwaran is the skipper of the India A squad and has experience playing almost 90 first-class matches. He has scored 6556 runs in 150 innings with an average of 47.85 and includes 22 centuries and 26 half-centuries.

"It's natural to be a little disappointed. When you have such a big dream, that passion overpowers everything. I obviously tell myself and I have this inside me that I will never give up. Till the time I play cricket, my aim will always be to play for the country. So I want to focus on that," Said Easwaran during an interview with Sportskeeda.

"I am really positive about that opportunity coming pretty soon and I just want to work hard on my game and focus on whatever tournaments I play. I want to be ready for the day I get picked and I just want to give it my best every single day I play cricket," he added.

Test Cricket Indian Cricket Team Bcci West Indies Cricket Abhimanyu Easwaran