BCCI 2022-23 Domestic schedule: Start and End dates

BCCI 2022-23 Domestic schedule: Over 1500 matches will be held during the season that will commence in the first week of September 2022 and run until mid-March 2023

Arijit Barua
New Update

BCCI 2022-23 Domestic schedule: On August 8, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the schedule of India's domestic season 2022-23. Over 1500 matches will be held during the season that has already started from the first week of September 2022 and will run until mid-March 2023. 

BCCI 2022-23 Domestic schedule: Start and End dates |

Team Madhya Pradesh with the Ranji Trophy 2021-22

Image - ESPNCricinfo

Also Read: Duleep Trophy 2022: Full schedule, squads, and everything you need to know

The prestigious Duleep Trophy will mark the start of a full-fledged season. Meanwhile, it will also see a return of the Irani Cup. The Duleep Trophy (8th September-25th September) will be contested between six zones (North, South, Central, West, East, and Northeast) on a knockout basis.

The two multi-day tournaments will be followed by the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy and the Vijay Hazare Trophy. The two white-ball tournaments will be contested between 38 teams split into three groups of 8 teams and two groups comprising 7 teams. 

The Ranji Trophy, India's premier domestic tournament, will have two categories; 1) Elite and 2) Plate. The Elite Group will comprise 32 teams and will have 4 groups of 8 teams in a home and away format. Each team will play 7 matches in the league stage. The top two teams from each of the four groups will directly qualify for the quarterfinals. 

The Plate Group will comprise 6 teams with 15 league matches. The top 4 will directly qualify for the semi-final while the bottom two will play against each other for the 5th/6th place. Both the Elite Group and Plate Group league matches will start on 13th December. However, the Plate League will conclude on 29th January, and the Elite group will finish on 20th February. 

BCCI 2022-23 Domestic schedule: Women's cricket calendar begins on October 11

As the ICC Women's T20 World Cup is scheduled to take place in South Africa in February 2023, the women's calendar begins with the Senior Women's T20 Trophy starting on October 11 and concluding on 5th November. It will then be followed by the Senior Women's Interzonal T20 and T20 Challenger. The 50-over format will then take over with Senior Women's one-day Trophy and the inter-zonal one-day.

Read Also: Smriti Mandhana in her last 8 T20I Games

Both the Senior Women's Interzonal T20 and one-day have been re-introduced this season. For the first time, the Board will conduct a one-day tournament for girls at the U-16 level. The competition will help the girls get a feel of competitive cricket at a young age. Moreover, it will also help them make a smoother transition to the U-19 level. 

However, South Africa will also host the inaugural ICC U19 Women's T20 World Cup in January. The women's U19 T20 Trophy and Women's U19 T20 Challenger have been scheduled from 1st October to 7th November.    

Bcci Sourav Ganguly Indian Womens Cricket Womens Cricket Bcci Domestic Bcci Womens Ranji Trophy Duleep Trophy Vijay Hazare Trophy Jay Shah Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Irani Cup Womens Senior T20 Trophy 2022