ICC welcomes Mongolia, Tajikistan and Switzerland as new members; Russia suspended

The ICC welcomes and inducted Mongolia, Tajikistan and Switzerland as members at its 78th Annual General meeting, however, suspends Russia

Debangshu Biswas
New Update
ICC welcome new members Mongolia, Tajikistan and Switzerland | SportzPoint

The ICC welcomes new members Mongolia and Tajikistan as the 22nd and 23rd members of the Asia region. On the other hand, Switzerland is Europe's 35th member. Moreover, ICC now comprises 106 members in total, including 94 associates.

ICC welcomes new members

Also Read: Top 10 teams with the most wins in T20I cricket

Meanwhile, Zambia and Russia failed to meet the ICC membership criteria. As a result, ICC temporarily handed out suspensions to both of these teams. Although Russia has until the time of the next ICC AGM to demonstrate compliance. However, ICC will terminate Russia's membership if they maintain continuous non-compliance with ICC Membership Criteria.

"We are delighted to be welcoming three new Members into the ICC family, which reflects the growth and potential of the global game," William Glenwright, ICC general manager for development, said. "All three applications demonstrated an impressive commitment to growing the game - particularly amongst women and youth - and we look forward to assisting them in achieving their potential.

"As cricket activity begins to emerge from the pandemic, we are at an exciting stage of cricket's growth with ambitious plans and projects to deliver in partnership with our Members to not only navigate the impact of Covid-19 but to also help achieve transformative growth for the sport globally."

Also Read: Most Centuries in international cricket since 2016

Icc Switzerland Mongolia Tajikistan