Most T20I Wins as Captain

Babar Azam equalled the record of the Most T20I Wins as Captain with Asghar & Morgan after the victory against New Zealand by 38 runs

Follow Us On Google News

Most T20I Wins as Captain

Babar Azam equalled the record of the Most T20I Wins as Captain with Asghar & Morgan after the victory against New Zealand by 38 runs

Follow Us On Google News

Web Stories

Captaining a national side is always a serious matter. Captaincy is a peak job in cricket, as he/she has to take all the decisions on the field in terms of bowling, batting, and fielding. A good skipper keeps the environment healthy and solves the problems of the team by communicating with them. There are many captains who have played this great game, but not every individual has been able to leave a mark. Let’s talk about the top 5 players with the Most T20I wins as Captain.

Read Also: BCCI issued a statement on the fitness of Jasprit Bumrah and Shreyas Iyer

Most T20I Wins as Captain (Top Five):

Asghar Stanikzai | Afghanistan

Retired Afghan cricketer, Asghar Stanikzai has won the most matches as a T20 international captain. The 33 years has captained the Afghanistan side 52 times. He took the team over the rope in 42 games with a win percentage of 81.73. Although Asghar has never managed to win a T20 World Cup with Afghanistan, he has helped the team to grow from the roots

Eoin Morgan | England

The first World cup winning captain of England, Eoin Morgan is sharing the joint top spot in terms of winning the most matches as a T20 captain. Eoin Morgan has been captaining England in T20s since 2013. England have lost only 27 games out of 72 under his captaincy. His win percentage of 60.56 is 2nd best among captains playing more than 40 matches.

Babar Azam | Pakistan

Babar Azam equalled the world record for Most T20I Wins as Captain after beating New Zealand by 38 runs on Saturday at Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore. He now has 42 wins in 68 matches as skipper. He is also now sharing the joint top spot with England’s former captain, Eoin Morgan, and Afghanistan’s former skipper, Asghar Afghan, who also have 42 wins under their captaincy. Babar has the chance to become the most successful captain in T20I history by registering a win in the remaining three matches of the series against the Kiwis. Babar also surpassed Mahendra Singh Dhoni, who won 41 out of 72 matches as Indian skipper.

Read Also: Cricket Association of Bengal decides to call off U-13 & U-15 matches from 15-23 April due to heat

MS Dhoni

One of the greatest captains of all time, MS Dhoni is the first-ever captain to hold the T20 World Cup. He accomplished the feat in 2007. With a win percentage of 59.28, he led the Indian side 72 times in the shortest format of the game and took them to the victory line 41 times.

Aaron Finch

The Aussie skipper Aaron Finch led Australia to the 2021 T20 World Cup victory in UAE. He has the 3rd most wins in T20I as captain. In the last few years, Finch led his team on 76 occasions and had victorious on 40 occasions with a fascinating win percentage of 55.47.

Most T20I Wins as Captain | Sportz Point

Most T20I Wins as Captain:

Player Matches Wins Losses Win %Tied
Asghar Afghan (AFG)5242981.731
Eoin Morgan (ENG)72422760.562
Babar Azam (PAK)68422166.66
MS Dhoni (IND)72412859.281
Aaron Finch (AUS)76403255.471
Rohit Sharma (IND)51391276.47
Kane Willaimson (NZ)69353252.201
Virat Kohli (IND)50301664.582
Sarfaraz Ahmed (PAK)37290878.37

Share On

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Social Media

Recent News

SportzPoint Sign Up
Receive the latest news

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Get notified about new articles, news and offers!

The FA cup winners for past 10 years Last 10 Premier League Winners Chelsea players likely to leave this summer Most FA cups won by a team Most Premier League Titles WTC final: India can create history at Kia Oval Recapping Lionel Messi’s stint at PSG IPL 2023: A Look at top players from each franchise Kohli vs Smith in World Test Championship Reports of IPL 2023 Auction’s Big Money signings