All the FIFA World Cup winners and runners-up since 1930

Being named among the FIFA World Cup winners is the absolute and only thinkable dream for any footballing country.

Avignyan Mukhopadhyay
New Update
FIFA World Cup winners: Sportz Point

The most prestigious competition in international football and being named among the FIFA World Cup winners is the absolute dream for any footballing country.

With football often considered the world's most popular sport, the FIFA World Cup spectacularly generates a huge following when it is held every four years.

France are the reigning world champions, having won the last FIFA World Cup in 2018.

FIFA World Cup winners | Sportz Point

Image- Sportz Point

The upcoming FIFA World Cup 2022, to be held from November 18 to December 20 in Qatar, will be the first winter World Cup in history, organised so that players can escape the soaring high temperatures during summer in Qatar. It is also the first FIFA World Cup to be held in the middle of the club football season.

FIFA, the international governing body of football, was formed in 1904 and it organised the football competition at the Antwerp 1920 Olympics, which was recognised as an inter-continental competition.

This paved the way for the first-ever FIFA World Cup to be held in 1930. Uruguay were hosts as they celebrated 100 years of independence and had also won gold at the 1924 and 1928 Olympics.

Uruguay also went on to lift the trophy at home, beating Argentina 4-2 in the final to be crowned the first FIFA World Cup champions.

Italy then won the next two FIFA World Cups - in 1934 and 1938 - and became the first nation to defend their title.

Uruguay won their second title in 1950 and West Germany lifted their first FIFA World Cup trophy in 1954.

Brazil are the most successful team at the FIFA World Cup, having won the title five times. They are also the only country to qualify for all 21 editions of the FIFA World Cup.

Brazil's first title came in 1958 as the 17-year-old Pele, who would go on to become a legend, scored six goals in the tournament. Brazil beat hosts Sweden 5-2 in the final to lift the trophy. Brazil defended their title in 1962.

England went on to win their first, and to date only, FIFA World Cup trophy in 1966. England's Geoff Hurst scored three goals in the 4-2 win over West Germany and he is the only man to score a hat-trick in a FIFA World Cup final.

Pele and Brazil won their third title in 1970. Pele, with three trophies, has won the most World Cups by an individual player. Brazil's last World Cup trophy came in 2002.

Argentina, powered by the brilliance of the late Diego Maradona, won their second title in 1986, having first won it in 1978.

The FIFA World Cup got a new winner next in 1998 as modern football giants France, under the captaincy of Didier Deschamps, beat Brazil in the final to win their first title on home soil.

Didier Deschamps was the manager of the French team that won the 2018 FIFA World Cup, making him the third individual to win the title both as a player and a manager. Mario Zagallo (Brazil) and Franz Beckenbauer (Germany) have also achieved the feat.

The record for most goals scored in a single FIFA World Cup is held by Frenchman Just Fontaine, who scored 13 goals in 1958.

FIFA World Cup winners list:

Year Winners Runners-up
1930 Uruguay Argentina
1934 Italy Czechoslovakia
1938 Italy Hungary
1950 Uruguay Brazil
1954 West Germany Hungary
1958 Brazil Sweden
1962 Brazil Czechoslovakia
1966 England West Germany
1970 Brazil Italy
1974 West Germany The Netherlands
1978 Argentina The Netherlands
1982 Italy West Germany
1986 Argentina West Germany
1990 West Germany Argentina
1994 Brazil Italy
1998 France Brazil
2002 Brazil Germany
2006 Italy France
2010 Spain The Netherlands
2014 Germany Argentina
2018 France Croatia
2022 Argentina France
The World Cup tournaments were reportedly cancelled in 1942 and 1946 due to World War II.

Brazil top the roll of honour, having won the World Cup a record five times and to them goes the credit of having competed in all the editions of the FIFA marquee event held till date. Seventeen countries have hosted the FIFA World Cup so far. From the 2026 edition, the tournament will be expanded to 48 nations.

That completes our list of FIFA World Cup winner list. Follow Sportz Point.

Fifa World Cup Fifa World Cup 2022 Qatar World Cup 2022