Football Facts: Premier League teams to win the treble

In spectacular football facts, there are just two Premier League teams to win the treble in the history of football.

Avignyan Mukhopadhyay
New Update

In spectacular football facts, there are just two Premier League teams to win the treble in the history of football.

Both teams are from the city of Manchester and have been coached by two of the greatest manager's ever in Guardiola and Sir Alex Ferguson.

Two of the greatest year's in English football history. 1999 and 2023, a treble is winning three major trophies in a single season. That means total domination of the Premier League, one domestic cup (League Cup/ FA Cup) and the UEFA Champions League.

Football Facts: Premier League clubs to win the treble:

Manchester United (1998/99):

Football Facts | Man United 1999 treble | Sportz Point

Manchester United won the treble in 1998/1999 (Image- MEN)

In 1999, Manchester United completed one of the greatest sporting achievements in sports history when they accomplished the Treble.

In the Premier League that season, United suffered three losses. Those losses were at Highbury to Arsenal, at Sheffield Wednesday, and at Old Trafford to Middlesbrough.

In the FA Cup, the first game ended without any score after 120 minutes, and a goal for Roy Keane was controversially disallowed because it appeared that he was offside to the referee, even though replay showed that he wasn't offside—so the two titans met again for the last ever FA Cup semifinal replay (they were replaced by penalty shootouts at the end of the game if it was tied after overtime).

During the replay, Beckham scored early in the game, but Dennis Bergkamp tied the game in the 70th minute for Arsenal. Three minutes later, Keane was red carded for having multiple bookings, and United had to play the rest of the game without him.

In stoppage time, Phil Neville committed a foul inside the penalty box, but United keeper Peter Schmeichel stopped Bergkamp's penalty, which brought the game to extra time. In the 110th minute, Ryan Giggs ran 70 yards and beat five Arsenal defenders and scored the go-ahead goal in what is considered to be one of the greatest solo goals ever.

United won the game several minutes later, and went to the FA Cup final against Newcastle at the final FA Cup final at the old Wembley Stadium. United won the game 2-0 with goals from Teddy Sheringham and Paul Scholes, which gave United the FA Cup the second leg of the treble, and the "English Double" (winning both the FA Cup and the Premier League in the same season).

In the UEFA Champions League, on May 26, 1999, Manchester United played against Bayern Munich at the Camp Nou in Barcelona to see who would win the Champions League, and if United would accomplish the treble.

However, Keane and Scholes were both suspended for the final for picking up yellow cards against Juventus, which caused them to be suspended for the final, so Jesper Blomqvist and Nicky Butt were substituted for them in the final. In the sixth minute, Mario Basler scored on a free kick that curved into the far corner off a free kick, and it gave Munich a 1-0 lead.

Even after Munich struck multiple posts and forced Schmeichel to make several unbelievable saves, the score was still 1-0. Ferguson finally decided that changes had to be made if United was going to win this game, so in the 67th minute, Sheringham came in for Blomqvist, and in the 81st minute, Solskjær came in for Cole.

These subs then took away Munich's momentum, and they gave United control of the game. Then as injury time begun, one of the greatest comebacks in sports history started.

United won a corner at the beginning of the three minutes of injury time as Beckham took it and Schmeichel ran up to join the United offensive. Munich got the ball and tried to clear, but United regained the ball as Giggs took a shot, but Sheringham came in and redirected into the back of the net to tie up the game at one.

Also Read:

Then, United won yet another corner, and Beckham again took the kick, as it found Sheringham's head, who directed it to Solskjær, who kicked it into the back of the net, and gave United a shocking 2-1 lead.

Right after Munich got the ball at kickoff, United cleared it, and the game ended with a Manchester United 2-1 win in the Champions League final, and they accomplished the treble in one of the greatest moments ever in Champions League history.

Manchester City (2022/23):

Man City UCL win | Sportz Point

Manchester City won the treble in 2022/23 (Image- Manchester City)

In another football facts , Manchester City have become the first English club to win the treble since 1999 following their 1-0 win over Inter Milan in the Champions League final. Rodri scored the all-important goal on the night, though it was far from smooth sailing for the Etihad Stadium outfit.

Following their success in the FA Cup against Manchester United and Premier League while Arsenal finished second, the pressure was firmly on City to write themselves into the history books, and they duly obliged. Though it took Pep Guardiola's side until the 68th minute to make the breakthrough, with Rodri providing the all-important moment of excellence when the ball fell to him on the edge of the box following a blocked cross – curling a sensational effort past Andre Onana.

Pep Guardiola's men beat Manchester United in the FA Cup final at Wembley on Saturday to lift the seventh FA Cup trophy in the club's history.

The victory over cross-city rivals United saw them lift their second trophy of the season, and in other words, they did 'the double'.

City's 4-0 demolition of Real Madrid sent them into this year's Champions League final, where they defeated Italian side Inter in Istanbul on 10 June, completing the triple trophy victory and securing the treble.

For more football facts, follow Sportz Point.

Uefa Champions League Manchester United Premier League Manchester City Fa Cup