La Liga: Teams with most La Liga titles

Share on:

Follow us on Google News:

Barcelona and Real Madrid are the most successful teams in the La Liga history.
Web Stories

Barcelona won their 27th La Liga trophy under manager and club legend, Xavi. The major summer signings have paid off big time as the newly formed Barca team has finally managed to win a major honour since Messi’s emotional departure. They are now the team with second most La Liga Titles.

Spanish football has entertained and given the fans some of the best moments to cherish. Though dominated mostly by the likes of Real Madrid and FC Barcelona, the La Liga matches are a treat for fans from all over the world.

A total of 62 teams have participated in La Liga over the years, with Real Madrid holding the most number of titles (34), followed by their rivals Barcelona who have won 26 titles. In the 2020-21 season, Atletico Madrid won their second La Liga title under Diego Simeone, as Los Rojiblancos got their hands on the domestic crown for the first time since their historic 2013-14 campaign.

In the latest edition of La Liga, which is the 2021-22 season, Real Madrid has been crowned as the Champions. Los Blancos has been crowned champions with still 2 games left to play. This is Real Madrid’s 35th Spanish League title.

#6. Real Sociedad ( 2 League titles)

Have been founded in 1909, Real Sociedad (also known as La Real) is one of the oldest and most respected football clubs in Spain. The club won both the La Liga and the Copa del Rey on two occasions. Being based in San Sebastián, Real Sociedad plays its home matches on Anoeta, a stadium with a somewhat bad reputation due to it having athletics track between the field and the stands.

#5. Valencia (6 League titles)

Valencia have won the same number of league titles and finished runners-up. Apparently, they have finished in the second place six times. They won their first La Liga title in the 1941-42 season. Meanwhile, their previous triumph came as long back as the 2003-04 campaign.

Along with this, they have also won the Spanish Cup (Copa del Rey) eight times. On the European front, the side won the UEFA Europa League in the same season they won the La Liga (2003-04). It is one remarkable feat for a team to taste both European and domestic success in the same season.

#4. Athletic Club Bilbao ( 8 League title)

Athletic Club Bilbao have won the league title eight times and finished as runners-up seven times. On the European front, they have not managed to secure any titles, but have done an excellent job in Spain. They have also won the Copa del Rey a staggering 24 times.

Their first La Liga triumph came in the 1933-34 season while their last one was in 1983-84. Interestingly, that was their last league title and it was the only time when they won the league on consecutive occasions (they won it in the 1982-83 season as well). Bilbao’s last trophy was the Spanish Super Cup, which the team lifted in 2019-20.

#3. Atletico Madrid (11 League titles)

La liga | Sportz Point.
(Image- In The Calderon)

The Madrid side has been known to nurture multiple young talents who have went on to become legends of the game. The list includes players such as Sergio Aguero, Diego Costa, Thibaut Courtois, David de Gea, Radamel Falcao and so on. They have won the La Liga 11 times, with the recent one coming last season (2020-21).

Atletico Madrid’s first league title came in 1939-40 and was followed by another win in 1940-41. The Colchoneros are yet to taste the Champions League success, but have won the Europa League and the Super Cup on three occasions. The club has also won the Copa del Rey 10 times.

#2. FC Barcelona ( 27 League titles)

La Liga | Sportz Point.
(Image- 90 min)

No surprise as FC Barcelona take the second spot and by a huge margin. Spain has been dominated by two teams for majority of the time, with FC Barcelona being one of them. With Lionel Messi’s departure and players such as Ousmane Dembele causing instability at the club, their current season looked in danger.

But, former player and now manager Xavi has turned things around for the Catalans, as they sit third in the league table. Their current form may not be appealing to some, but their future certainly looks bright. Their last La Liga title came in the 2018-19 season. And in 2022-23 season, under manager Xavi, they have won their 27th league title, first in the post Messi era.

#1. Real Madrid ( 35 League titles)

Sportz Point.
(Image- Free Press Journal)

FC Barcelona’s arch-rivals Real Madrid take the top spot, with 34 La Liga titles in their kitty. Unlike their city rivals Atletico Madrid, Real have had a history of buying established players. They were once known as “The Galácticos”, which means a galaxy of stars. Legendary players like Roberto Carlos, David Beckham, Cristiano Ronaldo, Zinedine Zidane, Luis Figo and more have represented the club in the past.

The Los Blancos won their first La Liga title in 1931-32. Apparently, their last league title came in 2019-20. With 63 points in 27 matches and an eight-point lead over second-placed Sevilla, they will look to extend their run to 35 titles this season.

La Liga: Teams with most La Liga titles | Sportz Point

Share on:

SportzPoint Sign Up
Receive the latest news

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Get notified about new articles, news and offers!

ICC announces prize money for ODI World Cup 2023 Suryakumar Yadav ends 21-ODI wait for fifty India achieve historic rankings feat after first ODI win Shubman Gill looks to dethrone Babar Azam as ODI No. 1 batter Shreyas Iyer given the final chance in the squad before World Cup Shubman Gill eyes Dhawan’s all-time record Smriti Mandhana and Harmanpreet Kaur rises in ICC women’s rankings Ravichandra Ashwin’s record in One day International cricket Sensational Siraj returns to No. 1 in ODI rankings No room for Sanju, Chahal in India ODI squad