Last 20 UEFA Super Cup winners list

The UEFA Super Cup is as old as other soccer tournaments in Europe. But this competition is the opportunity that a few teams on the continent have to make the famous double or triplet of cups and titles. Check out the list of Last 20 UEFA Super Cup winners.
Last 20 UEFA Super Cup winners list

 The UEFA Super Cup was first played in 1972. However, it was until 1973 that UEFA officially recognized the first Super Cup game. That game was between Milan and Ajax, the Dutch won 6-1 over the Italians. Until almost the end of the 20th century, this cup was played in the two-legged format, but in 1997 the decision was made that the cup be won in a single day.

Real Madrid had won four trophies in the Last 20 UEFA Super Cup list
Image :

The European country with the most Super Cups is Spain with a total of 15 wins. The fifteen cups are distributed among five Spanish teams. The Zaragoza is the only team that failed to win the cup and they lost against Ajax in 1995. The last time a Spanish team won the Super Cup was Atletico Madrid in 2018.

However, Real Madrid tops the list by winning four titles in the last 20 years. Also followed by Barcelona and Atletico Madrid with three titles for each of them. On the other hand, Chelsea have won the latest 2021 edition.

However, Let's have a better look at the last 20 super cup winners list.

Last 20 UEFA Super Cup winners list (2002-2021)

Winner Team Year
Real Madrid2002,2014,2016,2017
Barcelona 2009,2011,2015
Atletico Madrid2010,2012,2018
Bayern Munich 2013,2020
Velencia 2004
Sevilla 2006
Zenit Saint Petersburg 2008
Last 20 UEFA Super Cup winners list

Lionel Messi is on the exclusive list of the super cup scorers with three goals. Moreover, he holds the record of being the only player named man of the match twice in 2009 and 2015 with FC Barcelona. . Despite the fact that the Super Cup is a one time event. However, fans around the world are aware to watch the game from anywhere. It's an exciting event that has given some rivals a chance to play against each other before the start of the next season.

Follow us on Google News.

Related Stories

No stories found.