SAFF Championship Winners list from 1993 to 2023

The Indian football team won the SAFF Championship 2023 & clinched their 9th tile, the most by any team amongst the SAFF-governed nations.
India extended their SAFF title tally by 9 after defeating Kuwait in the 2023 edition (Image - AIFF)
India extended their SAFF title tally by 9 after defeating Kuwait in the 2023 edition (Image - AIFF)

SAFF Championship is the prime international football competition of the South Asian Football Federation (SAFF). The SAFF-governed teams can only participate in this prestigious competition. The prestigious competition kicked off in Lahore in 1993. It is held every two years. The 2021 edition of the tournament was postponed twice to October 2021 due to the COVID-19 pandemic. India won the 2023 edition to extend their tally by nine after defeating Kuwait on penalties by 5-4. In this article, We'll have a look at the Winners list from 1993 to 2023.

Performance by the nations in every single edition:

India, Sri Lanka, Nepal, and Pakistan were the four teams that participated in the first edition of the SAFF Championship held in Lahore, Pakistan in 1993. At first, The competition was named the South Asian Association for Regional Co-operation Gold Cup. In 2008, the name changed to the current one. India became the first-ever South Asian football champions after clinching the inaugural SAFF Championship in 1993.

India9 (1993, 1997, 1999, 2005, 2009, 2011, 2015, 2021, 2023)4 (1995, 2008, 2013, 2018)
Maldives2 (2008, 2018)3 (1997, 2003, 2009)4 (2005, 2011, 2013, 2015)
Bangladesh1 (2003)2 (1999, 2005)3 (1995, 2009, 2023)
Afghanistan1 (2013)2 (2011, 2015)
Sri Lanka1 (1995)1 (1993)3 (2008, 2009, 2015)
Nepal1 (2021)3 (2011, 2013, 2018)
Pakistan2 (2005, 2018)
Bhutan1 (2008)
Lebanon1 (2023)
Kuwait1 (2023

SAFF Championship Winners list (1993-2023):

India extended their title tally by 9 as they won the 2023 edition of the SAFF Championship. Maldives are the most successful national team after India with 2 titles. Bangladesh, Afghanistan (not a member of SAFF anymore), and Sri Lanka are the teams with 1 title each. Unfortunately, Sri Lanka received a suspension from the governing body of world football, FIFA. The ban makes Sri Lanka unable to neither host nor participate in the 2023 SAFF Championship.

1993PakistanIndia Sri Lanka
1995Sri LankaSri LankaIndia
2008Maldives and Sri LankaMaldivesIndia

Follow us on Google News.

Related Stories

No stories found.