Indian Football News: Chhangte and Manisha Kalyan win the AIFF Player Of the Year award

Share on:

Follow us on Google News:

Indian Football News: Chhangte and Manisha Kalyan win the AIFF Player Of the Year award | Sportz Point
Lallianzuala Chhangte was impressive for the Indian team and Mumbai City FC this season | Photo by Twitter/@90ndstoppage
Lallianzuala Chhangte and Manisha Kalyan win the AIFF Men's Player of the year and AIFF Women's player of the year award respectively.
Web Stories

The AIFF Player of the Year Award is the annual football award presented to the best footballers in India by the AIFF. Mumbai City FC winger Lallianzuala Chhangte, the “Mizo Flash” won the AIFF Men’s Player of the Year award for the season 2022-23. Meanwhile, Manisha Kalyan, the first-ever Indian to feature in UEFA Women’s Champions League won the AIFF Women’s Player of the Year award. Interstingly, Indian team captain Sunil Chhetri was not even in the nominees of the men’s category.

Read Also: AIFF Executive committee approves 5 teams in I-League; Federation Cup to return after six seasons

AIFF Men’s Player Of The Year | Lallianzuala Chhangte

Lallianzuala Chhangte win the AIFF Player of the Year award | Sportz Point
Mumbai City FC’s Lallianzuala Chhangte features in FIFA 23’s Golden Team of the week. (Photo by ANI)

If not Sunil Chetri, who is it gonna be? This is the question everyone was asking themselves. But now they’ve got the answer in the name of Lallianzuala Chhangte, who was said to be leading the race for the Men’s Player Of The Year award, has won it against his nation side teammates, Nandhakumar Sekar and Naorem Mahesh Singh.

With 10 goals and 6 assists to his name in 22 matches for Mumbai City FC, Chhangte has convinced the selectors that he is the best Men’s Indian Footballer. He’s yet to score or assist for his country this year but he has been immense for India as a winger. This is his first AIFF Men’s Player Of The Year award and it was a well-deserved one.

The new East Bengal winger, Nandhakumar Sekar were also one of the nominees. He also has not been able to score for his country this season with only 2 appearances to his name but came close a couple of times. Another one of his teammates, Mahesh Singh was also nominated. Mahesh was crucial in India’s victory against Nepal in SAFF Championship as he was the provider and the scorer for India.

Read Also: Exclusive | Bhaichung Bhutia: “India more likely to play a women’s world cup earlier than the men’s one”

AIFF Women’s Player Of The Year | Manisha Kalyan

Manisha Kalyan win the AIFF player of the year award | Sportz Point
Manisha Kalyan becomes the first Indian to play in UEFA Women’s Champions League. (Photo Credit: instagram/@manisha_kalyan_)

Indian Women’s Football team has achieved great heights in recent years and many believe that they have a better chance of competing in the World stages faster than the Men according to Indian Football News.

Manisha Kalyan, the previous year’s winner has successfully defended the title of being the best Women’s Footballer Of India and has won the award for a second consecutive season.

Manisha Kalyan has again proved her worth to the world and took Indian women’s football to great heights. She played for Apollon, Cypriot First Division club and also has 2 UEFA Women’s Champions League appearances for the club. She was the favourite to win it and after becoming the first Indian player to play in the Women’s Champions League, it was inevitable.

Emerging player of the year

Akash Mishra win the AIFF Men's Emerging Player Of The Year award | Sportz Point |
Akash Mishra in action for Hyderabad FC. (Photo by Hyderabad FC official) .

Akash Mishra, the 21-year-old Mumbai City FC defender has impressed everyone with his tackling and defending qualities and has won the AIFF Men’s Emerging Player Of The Year award.

On the other hand, Shilji Shaji, the 16 year old sensation from Gokulam Kerala has won the AIFF Women’s Emerging Player Of The Year award.

Share on:

Follow US

SportzPoint Sign Up
Receive the latest news

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Get notified about new articles, news and offers!

Suryakumar breaks Virat’s fastest fifty record Sensational Sadhu propels India to Asian Games gold Asian Games 2023 Medal Tally Updates Shubman Gill continues his dream run in Indore Shreyas Iyer joins Yuvraj, Sehwag in Indore club Odisha FC starts their ISL season with a 2-0 victory Harry Kane scores his first hat trick in Bundesliga OTD: Indian win Inaugural T20 world Cup ICC announces prize money for ODI World Cup 2023 Suryakumar Yadav ends 21-ODI wait for fifty