UEFA Women’s EURO 2022: Finals Group Draw

Egland will host the UEFA Women's EURO 2022 from 6th July.
UEFA Women’s EURO 2022: Finals Group Draw

UEFA Women's EURO 2022 will be the 13th edition of the UEFA Women's Championship. Also, it will be the 2nd edition since the tournament expanded to compete within 16 teams. The UEFA Women's EURO 2022 will kickstart from 6th July 2021 in England. The first clash will be between the hosts and Austria at Old Trafford.

Image Credit- UEFA.com

Group A: England (hosts), Austria, Norway, Northern Ireland

  • England and Austria will play the first match the tournament at Old Trafford on 6th July.
  • England dismissed Norway out of the last 2 FIFA Women's World Cups; in the 2019 quarter-finals and in the 2015 round of 16.
  • Norway, two-time champions, emerged victory Northern Ireland twice during qualifying.
  • Austria went on to the semi-finals on their debut in the year 2017.
  • Northern Ireland are playing their first women's final tournament. Unfortunately, they lost 4-0 against England in a World Cup qualifier. Austria also happens to be in that group.

Group B: Germany, Denmark, Spain, Finland

  • Denmark won the quarter-finals in 2017 and put an end to Germany's 22-year reign as champions.
  • Germany emerged victory Spain by 1-0 in the 2019 World Cup group stage.
  • In the last finals of 2005 hosted in England, Finland dismissed Denmark in the group stage and reached the semi-finals on their debut. Sadly, they lost against Germany.

Group C: Netherlands (holders), Sweden, Russia, Switzerland

  • Sweden won the first tournament in 1984. Wheras, the Netherlands won the last tournament in the year 2017.
  • The holderd emerged victory Sweden in the 2017 quarter-finals.
  • The Netherlands beat Russia 2 times during qualifying.
  • The holders also defeated Switzerland in the World Cup qualifying play-offs in 2019.
  • Sweden defeated Russia in the group stages of 1997, 2001, 2009 and lastly 2017.

Group D: France, Italy, Belgium, Iceland

  • France defeated Iceland in the group stages of 2009 and also 2017.
  • France emerged victory over Italy by 3-1 in the group stage of the last finals in England in 2005.
  • Italy also are 2-times runner up.
  • Belgium also made debut in finals in 2017.
  • Iceland are now in their 4th straight finals.

Group stage matches:

6 July (Wednesday)
Group A: England v Austria (21:00, Old Trafford)

7 July (Thursday)
Group A: Norway vs Northern Ireland (21:00, Southampton)

8 July (Friday)
Group B: Spain vs Finland (18:00, Milton Keynes)
Group B: Germany vs Denmark (21:00, Brentford)

9 July (Saturday)
Group C: Russia vs Switzerland (18:00, Wigan & Leigh)
Group C: The Netherlands vs Sweden (21:00, Sheffield)

10 July (Sunday)
Group D: Belgium vs Iceland (18:00, Manchester)
Group D: France vs Italy (21:00, Rotherham)

11 July (Monday)
Group A: Austria vs Northern Ireland (18:00, Southampton)
Group A: England v Norway (21:00, Brighton & Hove)

12 July (Tuesday)
Group B: Denmark vs Finland (18:00, Milton Keynes)
Group B: Germany vs Spain (21:00, Brentford)

13 July (Wednesday)
Group C: Sweden vs Switzerland (18:00, Sheffield)
Group C: Netherlands v Russia (21:00, Wigan & Leigh)

14 July (Thursday)
Group D: Italy vs Iceland (18:00, Manchester)
Group D: France vs Belgium (21:00, Rotherham)

15 July (Friday)
Group A: Northern Ireland v England (21:00, Southampton)
Group A: Austria vs Norway (21:00, Brighton & Hove)

16 July (Saturday)
Group B: Finland vs Germany (21:00, Milton Keynes)
Group B: Denmark vs Spain (21:00, Brentford)

17 July (Sunday)
Group C: Switzerland vs The Netherlands (18:00, Sheffield)
Group C: Sweden vs Russia (18:00, Wigan & Leigh)

18 July (Monday)
Group D: Iceland vs France (21:00, Rotherham)
Group D: Italy vs Belgium (21:00, Manchester)

Knockout phase


20 July (Wednesday)
QF1 – Winners Group A v Runners-up Group B (21:00, Brighton & Hove)

21 July (Thursday)
QF2 – Winners Group B v Runners-up Group A (21:00, Brentford)

22 July (Friday)
QF3 – Winners Group C v Runners-up Group D (21:00, Wigan & Leigh)

23 July (Saturday)
QF4 – Winners Group D v Runners-up Group C (21:00, Rotherham)


26 July (Tuesday)
SF1 – Winners QF1 v Winners QF3 (21:00, Sheffield)

27 July (Wednesday)
SF2 – Winners QF2 v Winners QF4 (21:00, Milton Keynes)


31 July (Saturday)
Winners SF1 v Winners SF2 (18:00, Wembley)

Match venues

  • Brighton & Hove (Brighton & Hove Community Stadium)
  • London (Brentford Community Stadium & Wembley Stadium – final only)
  • Manchester (Manchester City Academy Stadium)
  • Milton Keynes (Stadium MK)
  • Rotherham (New York Stadium)
  • Sheffield (Bramall Lane)
  • Southampton (St Mary's Stadium)
  • Trafford (Old Trafford – opening game only)
  • Wigan & Leigh (Leigh Sports Village)

Follow us on Google News.

Related Stories

No stories found.