Hockey Men's Asian Champions Trophy: India thrash host Bangladesh by 9 goals

India wins their first match of Men's Asian Champions Trophy as they beat hosts Bangladesh by 9-0 in Dhaka.

Koushik Biswas
New Update

In the first match of the Men's Asian Champions Trophy India was held to a draw against South Korea. The Korean defence proved to be a tough one as India managed to earn only one point from the game. However, the second game was far different from the men in blue. They thrashed the debutant Bangladesh by 9 goals in their second match of the tournament.

Read Also: Hockey Men's Asian Championship 2021 Schedule and fixture

For India, it was Dilpreet Singh who secured a hat-trick for himself. Meanwhile, Jarmanpreet Singh scored a brace for them.

Along with those two, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Akashdeep Singh, Mandeep Mor and Harmanpreet Singh were among the goalscorers list as well.

The scoreline would have been worse for the home team if it was not for their goalkeeper Abu Nippon. In the first quarter, Abu saved seven penalty corners from India and managed to make the hope alive for the hosts.

Dilpreet Singh was the first man to open the scoresheet for India as he made a quick turn and shoot it past Abu Nippon. For the second goal, Dilpreet Singh took the advantage of an easy pass back from Ashraful Islam. Later, Lalit Kumar found the net from a penalty corner to finish the first half. India leads 3-0 after the first half.

Read Also: Indian hockey teams to play in Commonwealth Games 2022

In the third quarter, Jarmanpreet Singh scored from two penalty corners. Meanwhile, Dilpreet completed his hat-trick to make it 6-0 for the visitors.

In the last quarter, the whole Bangladesh team went down to defend the goal. However, they could not resist Mandeep Mor, Akashdeep Singh and Harmanpreet Singh as they made it 9-0 for India. Mandeep scored his first international goal. In the whole match, Bangladesh only managed to have one shot on target.

India's next match in Men's Asian Champions Trophy is against joint defending champion Pakistan on Friday at 3 pm.

Indian Hockey Indian Mens Hockey Team Mens Hockey Team Indian Sports Hockey Mens Asian Champions Trophy