4 ODI World Cup winning captains to lead Indian Premier League teams

Pat Cummins

Sunrisers Hyderabad announced that Pat Cummins will replace Aiden Markram as their captain for the 2024 season of the Indian Premier League making him the 4th ODI World Cup winning captain lead an IPL team

Pat Cummins is the captain of the Australia Test and ODI team at the moment. He was purchased by SRH for a whopping Rs. 20.5 crore in the 2024 IPL auction.

Ricky Ponting

Ricky Ponting, who lead Australia to the 2003 and 2007 World Cup titles was the captain of the Mumbai Indians in the start of the 2023 campaign when they won the title for the first time.

Ricky Ponting stepped down from the top job six games into the 2013 IPL after which Rohit Sharma took over and led the team to a record of five titles and remained their captain till 2023.

MS Dhoni

MS Dhoni led India to glory in the 2011 World Cup and has been captain of the Chennai Super Kings since the first season in 2008. He is the joint most successful captain in IPL history having led them to five titles with trophy wins in 2010, 2011, 2018, 2021 and 2023.

Google News.

" >

Follow us on Google News.

England's 2019 World Cup winning captain Eoin Morgan captained the Kolkata Knight Riders in the 2020 and 2021 season of the IPL. He took over the KKR captaincy mid-way in the 2020 season and led them to the final in 2021 when they lost to MS Dhoni-led CSK.