Indian Open 2022: Lakshya Sen wins title on debut, beats world champion Kean Yew Loh

Lakshya Sen defeated World Champion Kean yew Loh to win the Indian Open 2022 and become the third Indian to win the title.

Koushik Biswas
New Update

India's most promising badminton star has just done the unthinkable. Lakshya Sen won the Indian Open 2022 by defeating reigning world champion Kean Yew Loh in the finals. This was Lakshya's first-ever Indian Open participation. And, he made sure he makes it a historical one.

Indian Open 2022 | Lakshya Sen wins title on debut, beats world champion Kean Yew Loh |<br />
 Sportz Point

Image Courtesy - Twitter

Sen outlasted the World Champion by 24-22, 21-17 in straight games. The 54 minutes long shuttle war was one of the toughest battles of Lakshya's career. Lakshya had already beaten Malaysia's Ng Tze Yong in the semis before coming to the final.

In the mid-interval, Lakshya had already gained huge momentum and a lead of 16-9. However, it was then that Kean showed his class and made a comeback into the game. Although, Lakshya did not lose his focus as he made his two-game points count in the first set. The first set went to the Indian by a bare margin of 24-22.

Read Also: Lakshya Sen keen on direct Olympics qualification, says coach Vimal Kumar 

In the second game, Lakshya again started to dominate and attack from the word go. Within the first break in the second set, Laskhya was able to enforce a few errors from the World Champion. This helped him game a lead of 11-9.

After that, it was Lakshya all the way in the second set. Kean though tried his best to pull things off but Laskhya's attacks were good enough to earn some quick points. Sen went on to win the second set by a 21-17 margin and pocketed his first title of the year.

Read Also: Tasnim Mir: Meet India's first-ever Junior World No.1 Badminton player

Lakshya Sen is now the third Indian to win the Indian Open after Prakash Padukone and Kidambi Srikanth. Meanwhile, in the doubles, it was the Indian pair of Chirag Shetty and Satwiksairaj Rankireddy that defeated Indonesia's three-time world champions Mohammad Ahsan and Hendra Setiawan in the final. They won the title by 21-16, 26-24 margin.

Badminton News Lakshya Sen Indian Open 2022