Arjuna Award Winners in Cricket since 2013

Here are the Indian players who have been honoured with the prestigious Arjuna Awards since 2013.

Abishek Goswami
New Update
Arjuna Award Winners in Cricket since 2013

Virat Kohli receiving the Arjuna Award in 2013 Image - X

The Arjuna Award is the second-highest sporting honour of India. The award is named after Arjuna, one of the characters of the Sanskrit epic Mahabharata. As per the new revisions in 2018, the award is given only to the disciplines included in the events of the Olympic Games, Paralympic Games, Asian Games, Commonwealth Games, World Championship, and World Cup, also including Cricket, Indigenous Games, and Parasports.

Selected by a committee constituted by the Indian Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, this award honours players for "good performance in the field of national sports over a period of four years".

Salim Durani was the first player to win the Arjuna Award for Cricket. In this article, We'll learn about the cricketers who have been honoured with the Arjuna Award since 2013.

Also Read: Mohammed Shami Receives Arjuna Award; Badminton Duo Satwik & Chirag Collect the Khel Ratna Award

The First Arjuna Award was given by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports in 1961. A total of twenty sportsmen belonging to different sports categories earned the Arjuna Award in 1961.

The left-handed spin-bowling all-rounder, Salim Durani was conferred with the award in 1961. Since then, 57 other cricketers have received the prestigious award, with Mohammed Shami being the latest to join the list.

Mohammed Shami has now joined Indian stars like Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, and Ravichandran Ashwin in the elite group who have won the prestigious Arjuna Award. Shami received the award from the President of India Droupadi Murmu on Tuesday in Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Shami had a magnificent 2023 World Cup where he scalped 24 wickets from seven matches. Since 2020, Shami has taken 127 international wickets across formats – 54 in Tests, 59 in ODIs, and 14 in T20Is.

Only three other Indian bowlers took more international wickets than him in this period. Ravichandran Ashwin (154), Jasprit Bumrah (139), and Mohammed Siraj (138) are ahead of him in terms of scalping wickets.

Arjuna Award Winners in Cricket since 2013

2013 Virat Kohli Male
2014 Ravichandran Ashwin Male
2015 Rohit Sharma Male
2016 Ajinkya Rahane Male
2017 Harmanpreet Kaur Female
2017 Cheteshwar Pujara Male
2018 Smriti Mandhana Female
2019 Ravindra Jadeja Male
2019 Poonam Yadav Female
2020 Deepti Sharma Female
2020 Ishant Sharma Male
2021 Shikhar Dhawan Male
2023 Mohammed Shami Male

Follow us on Google News.

Shikhar Dhawan Mohammed Shami Ravindra Jadeja Arjuna Award Ravichandran Ashwin Ishant Sharma Ajinkya Rahane Smriti Mandhana Deepti Sharma Virat Kohli Cheteshwar Pujara Rohit Sharma Harmanpreet Kaur Cricket