Australia announced the squad for WTC Final and the first two Ashes tests

Australia announced their squad for the World Test Championship final and first two Tests of the upcoming Ashes series.

Sudip Kumar Mukherjee
New Update
Australia announced their squad for WTC final & first two Ashes tests | Sportzpoint

Australia announced their squad for World Test Championship final against India and their upcoming Ashes series to be played in England. Team Australia announced their 17-man squad for the WTC final and the first two test matches in Ashes.

Allrounder Mitchell Marsh made a comeback in the test team and has been named in the squad. Along with Marsh, Marcus Harris, and Josh Inglis have been recalled to the Test side. Peter Handscomb has been left out of the squad despite his good performance on the India tour.

Also Read: The Best Test Cricket Players the World Has Ever Seen

Veteran opener David Warner was under a lot of pressure to retain his spot on the national team. As his performance in the test series against India was very poor. But he has retained his spot on the national team. Mitchell Marsh also is making a comeback in the national test side after four years since he played in the 2019 Ashes series.

Australia has retained their core team for the upcoming WTC final and first two Ashes series. Alongside Warner, they selected Usman Khwaja & Marcus Harris as the other openers. Four fast bowlers including Pat Cummins, Josh Hazelwood, Mitchell Stack, and Scott Boland are named in the squad. Todd Murphy was also selected as the second spinner along with Nathan Lyon.

Also Read: Rohit Sharma becomes fourth batter to register 6000 IPL runs

"The World Test Championship is the culmination of more than two years of consistent performance at Test level by the team and the individuals involved, leading into an Ashes series which is always highly anticipated. Marcus Josh and Mitch return to the squad and will provide valuable depth and flexibility within their respective skillsets. We see value in revisiting the squad following the second Ashes Test given the short turnaround between the WTC Final and the first Ashes Test, along with the length of the tour," Bailey said to Cricket Australia

Australia squad for WTC Final and Ashes:

Pat Cummins (c), Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith (vc), Mitchell Starc, David Warner

Cricket Australia Pat Cummins David Warner Ashes World Test Championship