BPL 2022: Sri Lanka cricket not to provide any NOC to 9 National players

Sri Lanka Cricket will not provide NOC to their cricketers to participate in the upcoming edition of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL 2022)

Arijit Barua
New Update

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) will not provide NOC to their cricketers to participate in the upcoming edition of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL 2022). Meanwhile, the franchise T20 league of Bangladesh is scheduled to commence on January 21. SLC said that they will not provide any NOC to players as they have national commitments.

Also Read: 5 Indian players who will bag big amount in IPL 2022 mega auction

Franchises of BPL 2022 have picked 9 Sri Lanka players in their squads. Fortune Barisal franchise has picked Danushka Gunathilaka and Niroshima Dickwella. Comilla Victorians have picked Kusal Mendis. Dinesh Chandimal and Angelo Perera were in the Sylhet Sunrisers team. Thisara Perera, Bhanuka Rajapakse, and Seekkuge Prasanna have got into the squad by Khulna Tigers. However, Isuru Udana gets a place in the Dhaka-based franchise team.

"As contracted by SLC due to their FTP commitments, they will not release their cricketers during BPL." 

BCB chief executive Nizamuddin Chowdhury confirmed to Cricbuzz on Saturday

Fortune Barisal already has announced that West Indies all-rounder Dwayne Bravo will replace Danushka Gunathilaaka. The other teams are now looking for replacements after the announcement by the Sri Lanka Cricket board.

Read Also: Srilanka Cricket Board: Players now have to provide a three-month notice before retiring

Sri Lanka Cricket board said that the players have to provide a three month notice before their retirement

Sri Lanka also released strict guidelines for retired players of their country. They now need to inform at least 3 months before their retirement announcement. Moreover, they need to fulfill various clauses to get a NOC to play an overseas league.

"Most of the member countries don't encourage players without a NOC. We don't accept any player to play in our leagues. Especially since it's been sanctioned by the ICC without a NOC." de Silva said. "They need to first get approval from their respective boards. Even if it's a retired player." SLC CEO Ashley de Silva told ESPNcricinfo

"If we find out a player has taken part in an unsanctioned tournament, we will take disciplinary action against them. For example, we won't let them be involved in the administration at Sri Lanka Cricket. So, before they go, they should know it's a tournament sanctioned by the ICC and that's why they need a NOC from the respective boards." he further added.

Also Read: New Cricket Rule for T20 Cricket

The tournament will witness 36 matches that will take place across three venues which are Dhaka, Chattogram, and Sylhet. BPL 2022 will be played in a double round-robin format. Each of the teams will face the other twice during the league stage. Then It will commence three playoffs games and the final. The final of Bangladesh Premier League 2022 will take place on February 18 in Dhaka. That will put an end to the tournament.

Bangladesh Cricket Srilanka Cricket Dwayne Bravo T20 Cricket Bhanuka Rajapaksha Bangladesh Premier League