Highest Individual Score in T20 World Cup

South Africa batter Rilee Rossouw registered a hundred against Bangladesh while Kiwi batter Glenn Phillips smashed a hundred against Sri Lanka in the ongoing T20 World Cup 2022 and enters the list of elite players.
Highest Individual Score in T20 World Cup

Scoring a century in a World Cup is a huge moment for any batsman as it will be etched in history for a long time. With T20s being the game's shortest format, scoring a hundred in T20 World Cup is always considered a big knock.

Brendon McCullum holds the record for highest individual score in T20 World Cup history
Image – The Indipendent

It takes a batter to bat at least 50% of the team's balls in that innings, and most importantly, it should come with a better strike rate. You don't see batters taking their time to settle in T20s, which will affect the team's winning chances. In this article, we will take a look at the top 10 highest individual scores in T20 World Cup.

Chris Gayle is the only player to score two centuries in T20 World Cups. He also scored two 80+ scores (98 against India and 88 against Australia) in the tournament. Mahela Jayawardene is the other player to score four 80+ runs in the tournament, including a hundred.

Alex Hales' 116 against Sri Lanka in 2012 is the highest score by a batsman while chasing in T20 World Cup matches. Chris Gayle's 11 sixes in his 100* against England in Mumbai in 2016 is the most number of sixes hit in a T20 WC match. 

Highest Individual Score in T20 World Cup: Top 10

BatsmenScoreBalls TakenStrike RateAgainstYearVenue
Brendon McCullum (NZ)12358212.06Bangladesh2012Pallekelle
Chris Gayle (WI)11757205.26South Africa 2007Johannesburg
Alex Hales (ENG)116*64181.25Sri Lanka2014Chattogram
Ahmed Shehzad (PAK)111*62179.03Bangladesh2014Dhaka
Rilee Rossouw (SA)10956194.64Bangladesh2022Sydney
Glenn Phillips (NZ)10464162.5Sri Lanka2022Sydney
Tamim Iqbal (BAN)103*63163.49Oman2016Dharamsala
Jos Buttler (ENG)101*67150.74Sri Lanka2021Sharjah
Suresh Raina (IND)10160168.33South Africa 2010Gros Islet
Chris Gayle (WI)100*48208.33England2016Mumbai
Mahela Jayawardene (SL)10064156.25Zimbabwe2010Providence
Last updated on 27/10/2022

Follow us on Google News.

Related Stories

No stories found.